17
Dec
06

Thursday night thoughts

So here’s my first attempt at the ‘practical/spiritual worship leading’ aspect of my page that can hopefully become a weekly post reflecting from something fabulous that happened the night before at practice.

Last night, something fantastic happened: DYNAMICS! It was amazing. So many songs, especially in the praise and worship realm, are 3 chords, maybe a minor in the bridge, and can be repetitive in nature. All too often with a band of volunteers who hold some other job that takes up 40-50 hours a week it’s a thing of greatness to get everyone on the same page. I know I am stoked when guitarists get licks down and we’ve all come in together and end in the right spot. But this week was different. I don’t know if it was the arrangement of the songs I chose, finally feeling good after a week of being sick, or…GOD but we spent time on developing dynamics. Not everyone has to play throughout the entire song! Layering is a thing of beauty! I mean you here it in every genre you listen to daily most likely. Take the swell of popularity from bands like Snow Patrol, Keane, Coldplay…’Deliver Me’ from the David Crowder*Band anyone?!?!

I think it’s an important aspect to nourish in praise and worship. How does it happen? Preparation. For me, we were doing 2 songs not typical of a normal Sunday because it’s Christmas. I spent hours tabbing out, listening, practicing, etc. Wednesday and Thursday so that I would be prepared for rehearsal. So it did come natural during rehearsal to instruct players when to emphasize certain parts, when to play, and most importantly when NOT to play. Say it with me, “I do NOT have to play during the entire song!” This is something we need to embrace and challenge our musicians to do: find time NOT to play. This week, everyone, even the drummer, has a spot where they are not playing. And that’s ok.

The true test is if anyone notices come Sunday morning 🙂

Although, like a great Sound Tech, if we pull this off, no one will likely notice. Which is good, that means the Spirit is talking louder than me!

1 Response to “Thursday night thoughts”


  1. June 19, 2014 at 8:12 am

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet viewers, its really really fastidious
    post on building up new webpage.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


