13
Jan
07

Momma…quit your job

BATON ROUGE, La. – LSU quarterback JaMarcus Russell said Wednesday he’ll skip his senior season and enter the NFL draft.

“It kind of hit me toward the end of the season that I was going to make that jump,” Russell said at a news conference.

Russell, a native of Mobile, Ala., threw for 6,525 yards and 52 touchdowns in three seasons with LSU, two as a full-time starter. He threw for 332 yards and two TDs in the Sugar Bowl to help the Tigers (11-2) beat Notre Dame 41-14. Had he stayed, Russell would have been considered a strong Heisman Trophy contender.

(I don’t know a whole lot about football but isn’t that a HUGE deal?!?!?!)

He finished higher in the nation in passing efficiency than any other LSU quarterback at No. 3 with a 167.0 rating. He set the school record for completion percentage at 67.8 percent and for completions with 232 out of 342 attempts and tied the record for touchdown passes at 28, which was set by teammate Matt Mauck in 2003. Russell became only the second quarterback in LSU history to throw for 3,000 yards with 3,129 — second only to Rohan Davey’s 3,347 in 2001.

(Snap! I told you this was a hoss of a big ole’ boy!!!)

“I was having such a good year and the way things were going, I decided I wanted to make that jump,” Russell said in front of a packed house of reporters, friends and family at the LSU athletic administration building. “If I was having a bad season I would’ve came back and finish it out on a good note.”

(And then I begin to get sad…)

Russell won late and showed up late, by 30 minutes, for his last LSU press conference, which was scheduled for 4 p.m.

(Late to your own Press Conference??)

Russell, who brought his family to the news conference, said he hadn’t yet signed with an agent. When asked what his draft preference was, Russell replied, “Whoever picks first and whoever pays the most.”

(I don’t know why such a typical answer from most anyone in the Entertainment industry makes me sad like this one from Russell. Perhaps because just earlier he had thanked God for this day and this opportunity. But then again, a typical answer from most anyone making a speech. Perhaps it’s the smug grin sitting there in the swank suit with the Nike swoosh and diamond encrusted earrings at said press conference that turns something in my stomach when in context of such a comment?!?! Perhaps because such a star getting such recognition and attention coming from my alum university and I overly nit pick everything that happens at his press conference announcing his leaving 🙂

“I told mom in the next couple of months, she can quit her job,” Russell said.

(This I sympathize with since I’m a huge Momma’s boy as well.)

Saints tailback Reggie Bush, who was the second pick of the last NFL draft, signed a six-year contract worth $26 million in guaranteed money and a chance to make $54 million.

(Something just doesn’t sit well in my stomach hearing that.)

“If they watch those drives,” LSU coach Les Miles said of prospective NFL teams. “If they just cut the film and watch those drives, they will make him the first player chosen. When it’s time to win the game, he’s your man. What you see in JaMarcus is a big guy who can throw and run,” Miles said. “When they talk to him and find out about him, his stock will rise.”

“He’s a tremendous leader, a quality man,” Miles said. “Those shoes will be harder to fill than the ability to throw it deep and make a great play. We wish him well in his next football adventure. We can only say he will be carried by us in our hearts and we will root for him wherever he plays, and we’ll miss him.”

(I will miss him too. He led an incredible team through an incredible season to an incredible win. I wish you the best Russell and look forward to enjoying you on Monday Night Football!)

Jamarcus Russell

(Sited: The Shreveport Times & The Star Tribune)

4 Responses to “Momma…quit your job”


  1. 1 Jim
    January 18, 2007 at 10:07 am

    – a mail box!!! – aside from the personal decision to become a professional in your career of choice, old school integrity and character should be important to us all. Easy to forget how young these people are standing at 6’6″, 260. Momma, make sure your boy sits up at the table and says mam. I know I forget my manners at times. I really respect the guys who act in act with dignity and integrity whether it be in the press conference or on the field.

  2. 2 Jim
    January 18, 2007 at 10:13 am

    – walking in circles in the middle of the road trying to pick up a scent – Where do I go from here??? If you’re going to use technology, use it. These things need a little radar screen on the side showing you where you are like the X-Box Safari game.

  3. 3 Robertco
    January 23, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Will this make my Reggie Bush stocks on trendio rise? http://www.trendio.com/word.php?language=en&wordid=376

  4. 4 Snexlex
    January 24, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    I hope this will make my Reggie Bush stocks go up so I make some money on it 🙂 http://www.trendio.fr/word.php?language=en&wordid=376


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


