22
Jan
07

This Day in Music – David Crowder fans eat your heart out!

So today starts a new trend on the Worship City blog: This day in music!

We all know that new CDs drop on Tuesdays and so why not have Tuesdays celebrate all things music related? Thursday Night Thoughts from last week will finally come out today. But now for this week’s This Day in Music – David Crowder fans eat your heart out!

I haven’t always been the excitable, charming, ADD leader of worship you see before you on Sunday mornings. There was a time when I was an excitable, spastic, nervous lead singer of a rock ‘n roll band. In those days there was a band that I set my sights to become like: Forty Day Fast. They were a local band from here, Baton Rouge, that played the gigs I wanted to play, had accomplished CD releases, had the stage presence I wished I had, and actually toured! As fate would have it though, our bands were not destined for greatness and eventually both disbanded. BUT as fate, or the good Lord above, would have it, the church that I now lead worship is the same church that the drummer for Forty Day Fast has been drumming for a few years now!

Now fate, or our Heavenly Guide, may be leading Bubba Fong to Austin, TX. It was this discussion that brought up stories of “the good ole’ days” after last week’s practice. It was told that there was a gig that Forty Day played at a college festival type event in Texas. An all day event that had incredible bands from all over playing and tearing it up for the Christian fraternity of the college. An event that happened to also have a band by the name of the David Crowder*Band.

Now, I cannot tell a lie. The facts unfolded as such: There was a stage. There was the David Crowder*Band who played late in the afternoon because no doubt they had to get back to their lovely home in Waco, Tx. There was another band who went on afterwards that happened to be the closing act of the night. That band was: FORTY DAY FAST.

SO, it is my humble declaration that I share the stage 2x a month with Bubba Fong who shared the stage with the David Crowder*Band who happened to open for Forty Day Fast (and if I didn’t mention: Bubba Fong!)(which by theory of Relative Proximity and Timelessness Traveling by Association, opened for me!) πŸ™‚

This has been your very first tongue-and-cheeck Day in Music!

6 Responses to “This Day in Music – David Crowder fans eat your heart out!”


  1. 1 Jim
    January 23, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    I feel honored to share worship with the drummer for whom DC*B opened… We will miss Fong should he be called to move to Austin. Maybe DC*B will need a drummer at some point and call upon Bubba Fong to fill in as he certainly has the pedigree.

  2. 2 Jim
    January 23, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    I thought I already posted this; guess not. We’ll miss Fong dearly should he be called to move to Austin. Should DC*B ever need a drummer, they should look up Bubba Fong via this Blog site assuming they were impressed after hanging around to hear him play when they opened for his band in the past. I know a man of Fong’s humble Christ-like fiber could make a seamless transition to playing the skins for a band that had been an opener for him prior.

    5 Reasons for DC*B to ask Fong to play drums:
    1) You have to want to meet a guy with the nickname Bubba Fong.
    2) When something goes well for you, it will be Fongalicous.
    3) Fong has a really cool , retro , DW kit, with satin swirlies all over it.
    4) The River Community Church band would think you’re cool.
    5) Bubba Fong can play the drums, really.

  3. January 24, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Sorry Jim, your first comment got caught by my Spam filter. Weird huh since your second one didn’t. Your fixed now buddy! Comment away!!

  4. February 24, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Yo. I finally got around to reading this post. Not that anyone cares or that this is even still worth mentioning, but still I feel like I should take the time to point out that it was not I that said Crowder opened for FDF. Those were Conner’s words… and he kept them even after I’d pointed out that it wasn’t quite like that.

    But since we’re on the topic, I’ll take the time to mention that during Crowder’s set that night I witnessed one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen. I saw a young man… probably college age… who obviously had some kind of disease causing him to be confined to a wheelchair. His body was weak, and although I cannot tell you what exactly was wrong with him, it was obvious that he was physically handicapped. And yet when Crowder was playing, this man placed his chair (with help from friends I’m sure) right in front of the stage, and he worshipped God in a way that still causes me to feel pretty lame when I picture him. To watch this young man lift his deformed arms into the air, and sing his heart out… in total disregard for what anyone else thought… it really had a moving and lasting impact on me. Recently J-dog (Jason Ryder – singer of FDF) and I were chatting and somehow that gig came up, and we both mentioned how we still vividly remember that guy. I have no idea who he was or where he is now but I know I’ll never forget him.

    And there’s a certain irony in that this blog is about a gig that we played in Austin, probably 6 or 7 years ago. And here I am finally reading this blog and commenting on it… as I sit in Austin, having moved here one week ago. That gig doesn’t seem like so long ago, but then again a lot has changed in that time period when I stop to think about it.

    Jim, I appreciate the kind words, but I think Crowder is in pretty good hands as far as drummers go. I’m going to start my search for a church tomorrow morning. I want to visit around a while before I actually commit to something, just to see what’s out here. Next week I’m probably going to call a couple of guys that I met back when I played with Ridgely, a worship leader named Ross King who’s good friends with my brother Kev (and who you need to check out if you haven’t http://www.rosskingmusic.com), and his former drummer who also played with Shane and Shane for a while, Craig Weaver. Craig’s one of the coolest guys I’ve ever met… and man does he have some funny stories. I figure both of those guys probably have some connections around here and can lead me towards some cool churches to check out. Who knows? I might even find some place to drummy drum a little.

    I’m trying to make sure I don’t compare these churches to River. River was just such a cool church and the people were just so cool… and real. The only thing it really lacked was a plethora of attractive, single, desperate Christian ladies. And that’s what church should really be about, right? πŸ™‚

    Okay, I’m going to end this. I can’t believe I’ve written so much… okay, actually I can. I babble even when I write. Is there a word for type babble? If not, I need to create one.

    I’ll try to do a better job of updating y’all on everything. And bubbafong.com is down right now, but hopefully will be back up within a few weeks. So there you have it. So long.

    -bfong

  5. April 15, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the
    issues. It was really informative. Your website is very useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  6. June 26, 2013 at 11:08 am

    At this time I am ready to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast coming yet again to read additional news.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


