23
Jan
07

Thumbs UP/DOWN: Live from Passion 07, Pt. 1

So your very first day of This Day in Music wouldn’t be complete without an actual music review! Without further adieu:

Passion dropped their first installment of 3 releases from the Passion 07 event today with 2 songs and a message from Francis Chan.

Thumbs down1. Friend of GodChris Tomlin and Israel Houghton (I think it’s Israel.) Eh, you know Chris has had me jumping the fence lately. I mean you can’t discredit the guy for writing such amazing choruses that somehow are instantaneously familiar and easy to sing along with. This song though is not that. I believe it must be an Israel Houghton song. It’s definitely a change from the typical Passion style. But I don’t think that’s a good thing. The verses are difficult to sing for a congregation and the choruses and bridge are very repetitive. Not for me.

Thumbs up2 . You are GodCharlie Hall. Oh this is what I LOVE about Charlie. It’ll never get to the top of the charts but I really, REALLY dig this tune. Funky beat, interesting melody line, great guitar riffs (maybe a Stulce amp?!?!), and in that ‘prophetic’ lyrical style of writing that I love so much about him. At 7 and 1/2 minutes, it’s long but it’s also live. I LOVE it! Great break down and he really surprises me there at the end! AND one you can do Sunday morning!

It wraps up with Francis Chan, who is incredible. An amazing speaker and I can’t wait to listen to his message all the way through! A good first release I suppose. It’s going for $3.50 which if you’re wanting the message, I think is an appropriate price.  It definitely has me chomping at the bit for the next release especially since it’s got to have a lil Crowder on it 🙂

4 Responses to “Thumbs UP/DOWN: Live from Passion 07, Pt. 1”


  1. January 24, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    DUDE!! ‘You Are God’ rocks it out BIG!! Great song, great writer, great moment of worship!! Two thumbs up!!!!!

  2. 2 naisioxerloro
    November 28, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Hi.
    Good design, who made it?

  3. November 29, 2007 at 1:56 am

    My incredibly cool banner logo was designed by Joel Klampert over at CECWorship.wordpress.com
    Go pay him a visit! You won’t regret it!

  4. July 19, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    It’s really a cool and useful piece of info. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


