31
Jan
07

Thumbs UP/DOWN: New Music Let Down

Thumbs down1. January 30th, 2007 – Nothing released today really impressed me. Katherine McPhee dropped today, ehh. Harry Connick, Jr. put out another one, yeah. Some bonehead country artist released ‘Lips of an Angel’ as if they haven’t overplayed that song to death already! There was Norah Jones but she just puts me to sleep. I might have made a grave miscalculation and missed something. I did pull a 12 hourer today and am beat (maybe I should get that Norah Jones release) but I scoured iTunes and was sorely disappointed. The one glimpse of hope that I did find get’s my Thumb’s Up for the day:

Thumbs up2. Derek Webb. Derek drops 2 CDs today. One is a ‘Sunsets and Sushi’ style, “One Zero Remix,” while the other, “One Zero Acoustic” is just that, acoustic. Both are the same 10 songs that represent Derek’s music as a solo artist. “Remix” features the hands of ‘remix engineer,’ Will Hunt, tweaking Derek’s acoustical masterpieces. I’ve loved this dude since the Caedmon’s Call days. It’s kind of a weak Thumb’s Up b/c fans of Derek’s solo stuff will be familiar with the tunes already. I haven’t had the opportunity to listen to the “Acoustic” CD yet but it appears they too have been ‘re-recorded’ with fresh life (a worthy plus.) But if they too are acoustic, then…eh. But how can you say anything bad about a guy who gave away his last CD in hopes that you would spend your cashola on a worthy cause?! And his lyrics are different and compelling! My weak Thumb’s Up just became a full fledged: Thumb’s Up! To you Derek!

3 Responses to “Thumbs UP/DOWN: New Music Let Down”


  1. January 31, 2007 at 12:24 am

    red byrd!!

    yea man. sorry but I had to jack the thumbs bro! they were just too inticing. thanks for your understanding!

    and yes, you are going to ‘get loud’ over the Steve Fee CD when you hear it!

    Shane

  2. January 31, 2007 at 11:02 am

    I understand. The internet is far too small and confined that there is only 1 cool image of a thumbs up. I’m sorry I took it 🙂

    Can’t wait to get the Steve Fee CD.

  3. January 31, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Hey thanks for the link love, my brother. Yeah I am the same tunz from wacks forum. Totally concur on this weeks releases and can not wait for the Fee project.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


