12
Feb
07

Tattoo You

I had one of the coolest experiences last week. I went with my boy Foo-oswald to get his very own first tattoo! It was quite an awesome deal! Rae and I have been talking about getting one for so long and I’ve been dragging my feet about it but this set me over the edge! It was incredible.

Justin’s Tat full

He got the Chi Rho symbol. Which is a monogram made up from the first 2 letters of the word, Christ in Greek.

Justin’s Tat Close

I was under the impression, because I’m a finder of useless trivia, that Chi Rho also meant something of a ‘Divine Moment.’ Kind of like Chronological is time that subsequently comes after one another; Chi Rho was some sort of abbreviation of ‘Christ’s time.’ Meaning that the very moment is something ordained or orchestrated by God. And while it sounds very lofty and wonderful, I can’t find any backing for that anymore 😦 I don’t remember why I thought that now!

Justin’s Tat Afterwards

Now what you need to know about Justin here is that he’s a ‘man’s man!’ He’s a drummer! So you know he likes to beat stuff! He’s a football buff. Dallas, Tx is like his 2nd home! And so the entire time he’s getting his first tat he’s in cool, calm, collective mode. Just like some dude was writing on him with a Sharpie marker or something. We were talking with the owner about drums, and banjos, music and pawn shops, our distaste in the new GC that’s opened up here, etc. We finish up and walk outside and just as I’m about to head of to my truck and bid him adieu till practice the next night I thought I’d ask him how it felt. And the mold broke as he sighed out, “It hurt like a son of a b#tch!” HAHAHAHA. Oh man, I felt sorry but only for a little bit because he now has a tattoo and I don’t. And apparently according to his wife, Hot Donna, he’s now 500% hotter than he was before! And that’s HOT!

10 Responses to “Tattoo You”


  1. 1 Jim
    February 12, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    And I always thought ChiRho was a city in Egypt… man, the things you learn on these blog sites. Congratulations Justin; if it’s good for you AND Donna, it’s good.

    I wish I would have given you one of those atta boy shoulder slaps last weekend.

  2. February 13, 2007 at 9:24 am

    Wow, and I learned that the gear guru of guitars is more likely to leave a comment re: Justin’s tat than on the news of the new VG Strat! All kinds of surprises here 🙂

    Yeah, Justin was supposed to tear his shirt off and throw it in the audience revealing his Man-tat and go into a drum solo…but that didn’t happen.

  3. February 13, 2007 at 9:33 am

    i’m quite the fan of tattoos…in fact i’ve been debating on getting another one on my forearm…(just don’t know what I want yet)…

  4. 4 Jim
    February 13, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    The placement of my Justin tatoo comment before a VG Strat should come as no suprise. Justin is a human being; a brother in Christ; permanently defacing his body solely for my joy and wonderment. I love Justin and what he represents in God’s creation. Now that I have aknowledged my bothers place above worldly things: see, “gear.”

  5. 5 samgamgee
    October 8, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Hmmm…I might get that same one! Looks great! By the way, KAIROS is the greek word which we translate “in the fullness of time”, which is not the same as Chronos time (chronos is the greek word from which chronology or chronometer derives). See Kairosprisonministry.org for example.

  6. January 1, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    it does also mean gods time, at catho.lic high schools all over the country they have retreats that they call kairos, for “gods time”

  7. 7 luke
    February 16, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    The Chi Rho symbol is for the first two letters in the Greek pronunciation of “Christ”. Chi makes the hard K sound while Rho makes the R sound. It was used by Constantine (first Christian Roman emperor) as a military symbol.

  8. April 13, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  9. August 3, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Hi there every one, here every person is sharing such familiarity, therefore
    it’s fastidious to read this web site, and I used to visit this weblog every day.

  10. September 3, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Very good post! We are linking to this particularly
    great article on our website. Keep up the good writing.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


