18
Feb
07

I’m baaack! and a lil Thursday Night Thoughts

So first off: YES you can sing with strep throat and still pull off a worship service 🙂

This morning was actually more difficult because of the nagging pain in my hip from the biggest shot I’ve had. I’m telling you, I’ve had shots before but this one really put me out. I’m close to ODing on Tylenol today…close…but I’m watching myself.

A few things I did this morning to make due:

  • Warmed up: ever so lightly but efficiently
  • Played everything 1/2 step lower: yup as soon as the band got there I had everyone tune down a half step. I can’t tell you the amazing difference that made for me.
  • Had the sound tech crank my vocals in my monitor mix: so I wouldn’t have to sing as loud and still ‘feel’ like I was singing loudly.
  • RELAXED: I gargled with some warm salt water, took another of those Sucrets numbing throat lozenges, and tried to relax! It was difficult b/c I had some fair share of technical difficulties this morning but taking the time to breathe, laugh, and compose myself was very valuable!

And it was a great morning. I was dog tired when we got finished mainly because it hurt to even stand on my right leg, the one I keep tempo with, until my Tylenol kicked in which was near the end of the first service! My voice is terribly weary but fine which is a tremendous plus! I was worried I might have overdid it this morning but I really focused on properly singing the morning which I sometimes take for granted. I noticed it was a bit more difficult holding a guitar and trying to breathe from the diaphragm. It was a complete payoff though. I even had people not even notice that anything was wrong until they saw me hobbling out to get some water 🙂

SO a few lil Thursday Night Thoughts comments. I again took time to notate with a (1) the most quiet, soft, brokedown part of the song and with a (10) the most banging, rocking, crazy part of the song in each one of the tunes! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS! You may not run into this problem but I have some rotating musicians who all love God and love playing but let’s face it sometimes you can get into a Praise and Worship rut. I mean P&W music isn’t the most difficult to play (generally.) So by notating the dynamic highs and lows of the songs helps the band remember the specifics and and dynamics of the song in question. It’s helped out alot.

I also incorporated the tambourine this week. We typically don’t have anyone ‘playing’ the tambourine but as I’ve been listening to alot of songs lately, there’s a tambourine or tambourine element (most likely a loop) that’s used alot to help change up the sound of a song. It adds a tremendous dynamic change I found. So we tried it out and I think it helped as well. I initially thought it sounded dated or brash but after hearing it in the mix, it fit quite well.

Songs:

  1. Famous One – Tomlin
  2. Your Grace is Enough – Tomlin (in G 🙂 )
  3. From the Inside Out – United
  4. All Creatures of Our God and King (2) – Crowder
  5. Creed – Third Day as a special instead of reciting the Nicene Creed
  6. Take You Back – Jeremy Camp as a special to wrap up after the sermon

I used the tambo in Famous One, Grace is Enough, and Take You Back. I’ll await feedback from the cong to see how it went over!

Do you guys ever use that in your services to create a change in feel? I’m curious if I’m severely dating myself or not?

7 Responses to “I’m baaack! and a lil Thursday Night Thoughts”


  1. 1 Gypsy Worshipper
    February 18, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    I think it’s great that you worked through your physical challenges and were vigilant in staying on God’s mission. Get er done, sleep when your dead, God will give you the strength, etc, etc… If there is something deserving of perseverance and fortitude, it’s God’s work. Atta boy to you.

    btw… as a gypsy worshipper who cares deeply about the worship experience, I must say that new guy on the electric guitar seemed ok, but I really like the other one; I hope he comes back.

  2. February 19, 2007 at 9:20 am

    OH don’t worry, the ‘other one’ will return! Jim was out of town on a lil business excursion. Brandon took off from his regular church worship rotation to come and fill in for him which was really cool!
    What would be super duper would be Brandon AND Jim! Wow that would be nuts!…but I like alot of electric guitar 🙂

    Thanks for the kind words, it means alot. I really appreciate it.

  3. February 19, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Dude! or Dudette! I just realized after walking away from the computer that you must be a congregant here at River! Nothing against any of my other visitors here at Worship City but this is GREAT! It’s actually what I’m hoping for. To create this community of people here in Baton Rouge and else where for people to connect and share life with! THAT’S GREAT!
    Welcome Gypsy Worshipper! I hope you frequent my lil blog often!
    I do have a question…if I may…ask what reference ‘Gypsy’ has? Do you love Stevie Nicks (as I do?) happen to enjoy the movie Snatch (as I do?) or Stephen King’s Thinner (as I thought was just ok) or is it a type of heritage or something?
    Just curious…but WELCOME!

  4. 4 Oswald
    February 19, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Dude, you were definitely a trooper on Sunday. Rehearsal was a beating, but you pulled everything off perfectly during both services. Kudos! There were a few reasons why I really liked the tambourine: 1.) Christine played it perfectly in time with me, never rushing or
    dragging the tempo.
    2.) She didn’t “overplay” it, meaning she only threw it in there during
    the bridge or during the final chorus. Nice job, Christine!!

    Dude, I didn’t mean to be malicious when I described you as looking like the Scorpio Killer in the original Dirty Harry movie as you limped around the sanctuary. But, you just don’t understand. You really looked just like the guy. The only thing you were missing was the tourniquet wrapped around your leg where you’d been shot by Dirty Harry…

    Crazy stuff…

  5. February 19, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    HAHA. That’s hilarious. You weren’t malicious at all. It’s good to know if this music thing doesn’t ‘take off’ that I might have a shot in movies! HAHAHA.
    Today was so much better…as long as I don’t try and sit Indian style!

    And I totally echo your thoughts on Christine! Kudos girl!

  6. February 20, 2007 at 7:47 am

    great stuff man!…

    i have a retreat this weekend and i’m taking all my throat meds with me…(i’ve been sick one to many times on retreats)

  7. February 20, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Wow…great I’m glad it worked out for you….good call on the detune… and great set list

    The tambo is a tough one…because if its done wrong it sounds so bad, but it can sound awesome…you just have to remember how loud it is…and it cuts through everything…
    Not dated actually pretty cool…wish we had somebody who could hit that thing


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


