06
Mar
07

Thumbs UP/DOWN: PASSION KEEPS ON TRUCKIN’

Thumbs upCharlie HallMarvelous Light. First glance at the names on this new and final release from Passion ’07 was a bit a disappointing. I mean, I already have these 2 tunes and they’re not even really ‘new’ to me anymore. BUT after hearing this version of Marvelous Light! CHARLIE HALL at his finest! What a version of this already fantastic song. Charlie flipped it on its side for us. Slowing it down, creating an amazing worship vibe with it. I saw 6 minutes and was like, crap come on now, but those 6 minutes were all too quickly over with. I was left wanting more!

I’m instantly taken to the feeling of the middle of this incredible worship set. Thrust in the middle of thousands of college worshippers in awe of Charlie working some of his live magic by giving us his signature style of prophetic type improv like lyrics to one of the greatest ‘catchy’ choruses he’s written! With this sort of plodding tempo that allows room for us to focus on the words and be enthralled by the Spirit! I LOVE IT!

Thank you Charlie Hall!

Thumbs upChris TomlinAmazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone). I anticipated this with the release of the movie which uses this song as its title track. It’s more than clever marketing. I absolutely adore his chorus here. And with an added vamp tag at the end of “Praise God,” it’s incredibly moving. This one though does feel a bit dragged out, his lasts a bit over 8 minutes! Not excessivly long, he has a couple different vocalists here with him that changes things up and it truly is beautiful.

It certainly doesn’t stand out as much as Charlie’s but for those Tomlin fans out there, you’ll truly enjoy this version of the song.

Thumbs upJohn PiperHow to Deal With the Guilt of Sexual Failure for the Glory of Christ and His Global Cause. HOLY SCHNIKEY’S PIPER WHAT A TITLE! I would LOVE to see that title on the cover of a church bulletin! It would wrap all the way around it.

OK John Piper. Need I say more? I think not. Get this bundle. It’s $3.50. I don’t get any commission on this, you just need to add it to your iPod because it’s great stuff.

Thumbs downLocal Christian Radio – I don’t know why I’m disappointed. I’ve always been disappointed with my local Christian radio station so I don’t know what else to expect. BUT they were turning around. It seemed at the end of last year before the Christmas carols hit, they had taken a stride and really begun to play some great tunes on there that would appeal to a younger audience. It seems after only 2 short months, we’re back to where we started. I’m not sure how this happened.

They did a ‘Behind the Music’ to the “new” Sanctus Real CD that dropped almost a year ago and has had 2 singles already! But it was as if this CD dropped that Tuesday. Bizarre. They’re circulation of songs seems to have become dated and stale again, and crazily moving toward the Christian Contemporary scale of things.

So my charge to you faithful readers is to take action! Most radio stations, like ours, have listener surveys that influence their rotation of songs. Get on it! Ours takes the form of a emailed survey. It doesn’t get any simpler than that! I get an email, tell them what stinks in their rotation and what’s great. I can’t complain unless I’m willing to do something about it. For the longest time, Christian music has been the brunt of jokes and not taken seriously because of dated, cliche’, and uninteresting music BUT that’s not the case anymore! Some Christian artists have the most creative music out there right now and need to be heard!

4 Responses to “Thumbs UP/DOWN: PASSION KEEPS ON TRUCKIN’”


  1. March 6, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    thanks for the reminder of passion pt 3…i forgot that was coming…I really hope they do a CD…

    Charlie Hall is becoming a top 3 fav of mine…and I cant wait to hear that extended version.

    Tomlin amazing grace is fantastic…Look out for my review of his new CD

    AND CHRISTIAN RADIO STINKS! get XM better christian music

  2. March 6, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    haha…i agree with you on the local christian radio stations…even here…

    what are they thinking?

  3. March 9, 2007 at 5:40 am

    I totally agree.

  4. 4 cb
    June 23, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Our local Christian radio stations are made up of real people with real stories just like you and me – just trying to do what God has called them to do in the best way they know. May our input to them be seasoned with grace and love. They are touching lives and making a difference, and for that I am grateful. Thumbs up to all of the above!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


