12
Mar
07

300 – $70 MILLION Opening Weekend

300

I have been stunned. I have been bewildered! I have been a little uncomfortable but mostly struck by the magnitude of the cinematic masterpiece that is Frank Miller’s 300!

If I need to describe to you what 300 is then this movie isn’t for you. Although if you’ve known about 300 and you got as jacked about it as I did, then you probably went out and saw it this past weekend like I did! BUT for those of you who just had too much to do and couldn’t make it: here’s my review of 300.

IN A WORD: Awe inspiring. No not ‘awesome’ because that word is so blatantly overused in out culture that it means nothing anymore. But awe inspiring: inspiring awe or being taken aback by, that is what this movie does for you. And that could be taken in a good way or a bad way! I think people will LOVE it or HATE it most likely. Stylistically though, I believe it is creative and beautiful. The outfits! The filming! The scenery (yes it’s computer generated!) The score is fitting and complimentary. The script…hey let’s be honest, you’re not going to see this movie for a deep, evolving plot with life-changing, introspective dialogue. You want ‘HOORAH’ speeches and motivating charges against the enemy.

NOW, the uncomfortable part: NUDITY. And it just wasn’t necessary. Not that nudity is necessary in any movie per say but here it was like, let’s see how many boobies we can get in with keeping our R rating, oh and throw in that lead dude’s chiseled butt while we’re at it too! So, that’s a good thing about DVDs, you can skip those parts. Which, I can only imagine this DVD release will be stellar with all sorts of DVD goodies!

What I found interesting in this movie is the devout sense of patriotism and pro-war agenda! The crux of the movie is based upon the idea of free men and women doing what is necessary for the good of the people and the country! When the King was given the redlight on going to war, he didn’t picket/riot/piss and moan in contempt against the corrupt advisory panel, he craftily went around them to defend his country and his people. It was always for Sparta! For the free men and women! Against tyranny and mysticism! (that was the cheesy line at the end but ehh it can be overlooked πŸ™‚

For those of you who thought Braveheart was filled with too much blood and gore DO NOT ATTEMPT TO EVEN WATCH THE PREVIEW OF THIS MOVIE! They love chopping off heads/arms/legs making examples of the dead and are very barbaric. Hey this is SPARTA! I actually appreciated the battle scenes though. They had some interesting ways of fighting that were pretty strategic and of course successful! I thought it was great! As waves and waves of King Xerxes’ minions descended upon the Spartans, they had a battle plan for each and it was crazy cool!

So 300 was adapted from a “Graphic” Novel of Frank Miller’s. Keyword: “Graphic.” And let’s keep in mind what was made of Sin City! For the faint of heart and stomach this was not made but for a testosterone induced coma! It doesn’t get much better.

15 Responses to “300 – $70 MILLION Opening Weekend”


  1. March 12, 2007 at 11:17 am

    I’m a big Frank Miller fan ( The Dark Knight Returns) so I will probably be going to see this in the near future. I hope it is good as you described. Thanks for the boobie warning. I will make sure I close my eyes.

  2. March 12, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Yeah the boobies should be pretty obvious when they’re about to appear. The man butt will totally throw you off guard.
    The Dark Night…mmmm…yes good!

  3. March 12, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    ok yeah ive been excited about this since it was announced and of course I went opening night.
    I got my pretzel and coke and thank God I ate and drank it all before it started.
    The spidey preview was awesome. YEAH VENOM!
    ok back to the movie. WOW…normallly I also would say awesome, but I walked out of there with this to say “…………….” thats right i was floored…I loved every minute of it. some of the boobies not needed…I didnt have too many issues with the lead and his wife in bed but all the nasty stuff with xerxes…hmmmm….that could have stayed out.
    its a 5 out of 5 stars from me, but its a love it or hate it movie for sure.
    Even though there were tons of 16 year old teeniebopper boyfriends with there girlfriends THIS IS NOT A DATE MOVIE!….what were they thinking. I cant even picture a woman liking this at all

    It is braveheart on crack….and deserves every accolation its getting

  4. March 12, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    For the faint of heart and stomach this was not made but for a testosterone induced coma!

    …so does that mean it will lead to a testosterone induced coma if you see it?

  5. March 12, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Klampert you’re totally right! I was actually totally bummed to find out a couple of my youth had gone to see it this past weekend. I was like: “This totally isn’t a movie for ya’ll!”
    But they were totally drawn to the coolness of the previews.

    Actually, my wife liked it! But I have a totally incredible wife πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Brandi
    March 12, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Yeah…I’ll admit, I had no idea what 300 was until Chris told me but, I dug it!!

  7. 7 Oscar
    March 12, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    I loved this film! Definitely “awe inspiring”, so artistically magnificent and original.

    I stumbled upon some cool production and behind-the-scenes footage on this site, Zannel. Check it out, it will give you a new found respect for the actors and creative engineers behind this film.

  8. March 13, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Thanks for the heads up about the boobies and butt. With that knowledge I will refrain from watching the movie. The tailors look interesting. Have you seen “Facing the Giants”? If not don’t miss this great movie. One of the best.

  9. March 13, 2007 at 4:04 am

    Little known fact..if you walk out of a movie you can request a refund of your money. And a side note, the theater cannot resale that seat. I have not walked out of a theater but then again I do not go to all that many movies. I prefer to wait until movies are either on PPV, at eh local movie store or on DVD.

    Great review.

  10. March 13, 2007 at 7:38 am

    Dude I have seen “Facing the Giants!” Loved it. We actually held a ‘Youth Fun Day Extravaganza’ (I’m also the Youth Dir. at our church) where we played football, girls played DDR, ate burgers and hotdogs, and then showed “Facing the Giants” in the sanctuary. I did a lil set up for the movie and we talked about it afterwards.
    I was pleasantly surprised. I honestly am typically disappointed with any Christian media gone mainstream, especially movies and even though I found it to be typical and I knew when the women would need a Kleenex and saw exactly what they were setting up, it was still moving!
    I mean I got choked up on a couple scenes! It didn’t matter, it seemed to really touch you! So I’m a huge advocate for that movie.
    Maybe I should do a review for that one! Hahaha.

  11. 11 Ali
    March 13, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Conner! You posted a response up there that was 6 sentences long. You used the word “totally” in 5 of them!! Oh mah gawd! You’re like, totally talking all valley girl style and stuff!

  12. March 13, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    Like I totally don’t sound that way at all. Pa shaw!
    You think I can go back and totally edit that out now that you’ve drawn attention to it?
    No way, fer sure.
    πŸ™‚

  13. March 18, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    I was studying to be a youth leader. I studied at Western Bible College now Colorado Christian University. I was club director for YFC and co youth leader for our old church. Keep up the good work.

  14. June 1, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Dude I finally saw this movie after multiple attempts. It was everything I dreamed it could be. The best part about the movie other than all the things you covered in your very dead nuts on review, was the movie got to the point! No build up. No drawn out over acted intro. Just this is what this movie is about and we’re going full on at 200 mph! I loved it. I was fortunate enough to get a DVD of it so I think I am going to watch it again tonight!

  15. June 1, 2007 at 8:32 am

    Oh that’s awesome man! I can’t wait for the DVD. We were down in New Orleans on Memorial Day at the Aquarium and they were advertising that they still had 300 on iMax! I had a split second thought of asking Rae to go through the Aquarium with Chloe while I caught the movie πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


