12
Mar
07

Thursday Night Thoughts

I figured I better get this in now because tomorrow’s Tuesday which regulars in the community here realize is reserved for the topic of music, particularly newly released music as by that’s the day new CDs drop; and this week is taking off and I’m already getting swamped. Seeing how Los threw me some blogging love earlier, I can’t let ya’ll down on my weekly round up’s of Thursday night’s practice and Sunday morning. Here we go:

  • Our Love is Loud (E) – DC*B
  • Your Grace is Enough (G) – Tomlin
  • Kindness (G) – …Tomlin
  • I Stand Amazed (How Marvelous) (G) – uh this is embarrassing
  • Your Love is Extravagant (E) – Darrell Evans

So the theme was Love over Knowledge which is what called for the songs speaking of Christ’s love and then I’ve just been dieing to do “I stand amazed.” We did something cool though with the first 2. We did a quick stop of OLIL and the banded ended on the “and of 3” or the “and of 4″…I’m not really sure b/c I don’t know a whole lot of theory. (Maybe one of the band who frequents here can comment) and then went straight into the 1st verse of “Your Grace is Enough” sort of a cappella. See with the quick stop, I could sing the first line, “Great is your love and justice God” and the band jumped in on “God” and with a rockin’ steady groove like OLIL. We then settled into the typical groove and tempo when we came out of the chorus and into the 2nd verse. It worked pretty well! I tried hard doing them in the same key but OLIL isn’t meant to be in G it just sounded awful. “Your Grace…” sounds like an awful lounge singer singing karaoke in E so that didn’t work either. It was a chance changing keys like that but with a few days practice and kind of hitting the G as I sang the first word, it worked like a charm and we didn’t loose momentum.

One of the things that caught me by surprise was how well “Kindness” and “I stand amazed” worked together. I’m finding it harder to be drawn to the ‘mystical, supernatural’ side of worship sometimes now that my job it to regularly try to plan that on a weekly basis. These 2 tunes were in G and worked well together. I planned on ending “I stand amazed” with an a cappella chorus that would wrap up nicely and emphasize the lyrics but it really took me by surprise! We finished “Kindness” and instead of playing right into it, I began “I stand amazed” with no instrumentation except light ringing at the beginning of the lines and came in right before the chorus. One of those things that I really felt God was like, “Hey, I gotta better idea! Do THIS!” and I stopped playing. The mood shifted and it was great. By the time we finished the build of verse 2 and went into the ‘big double chorus’ it was just beautiful! I still ended it the same way and it really added an exclamation point to our morning worship.

I find it’s those things now that even prove God’s bigness to me. Before I came on full-time to the staff at my church it was this amazing wonderful feeling. Coming on staff was comparable to Toto pulling the curtain off the Mayor in the Wizard of Oz and everyone finding out that there was this dude running it the whole time. I mean ‘a dude’ doesn’t run our service but our pastor, media arts director, and myself meet each week to “review and plan” the previous week and the next 2. We intentionally try to give the service a flow and theme and a way to connect people to God and one another. It was almost a letdown the first Sunday I stood in the back and saw all ‘the people’ who made Sundays work.

But then God pops in a stunning way that drops my jaw every time. Wow, I got a bit off topic here but that’s what happens. I’ll save those stories for another time.

Practice Thursday night was quick because of the short song list and familiarity of the songs. Which has happened 2 weeks in a row but has given me more time to work with the vocalists who I often neglect. That’s one thing I haven’t gotten good at. I’m a band guy and don’t know how to really coach female vocalists. So these past 2 weeks have been good. I love my team too because they’re not afraid to try new things with me and even better: speak up when they don’t work! HAHAHA. It’s great to have people to encourage and rally around you, and I have those people, but to also have those who’ll bravely and bluntly tell you ‘This isn’t working/doesn’t sound right/that’s off/let’s try this’ is really good!

Lord, let’s just please stay away from that Tomlin guy this week 🙂

4 Responses to “Thursday Night Thoughts”


  1. 1 Los
    March 12, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Dude. that was a lot of typing. how about videoing it G

  2. 2 snowjunkie
    March 13, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Hey, there’s nothing embarressing about “I Stand Amazed (How Marvelous)”. It’s good to work the odd hymn in now and again. Glad it worked well.

    Are you getting fed up with Chris Tomlin songs? 😉

  3. March 13, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    nice…good set list and yeah its pretty wild we kkep doing the same stuff…
    when you do your list post next to them like I do with the key you do it in…that would help me out nicely…

  4. March 13, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    Oh there’s nothing embarrassing at all with “I Stand Amazed” you picked up on it: I’m embarrassed about doing some many Tomlin tunes. I don’t realize how many are in circulation until I sit down and think about it.

    Klampert! Every time I check yours out I go mentally: “KEYS! What a great idea! I’ll do that next time!” And then I forget.
    I’ve made me a note though so it shouldn’t happen again 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


