17
Mar
07

The Cowboys!

Yup tonight is the performance that’s been eating up my spare time: The Cowboys! It’ll be amazing, it’ll be incredible, it’ll be great once it’s over 🙂

No seriously, I’m totally stoked. A congregant of our church wrote this ‘Thematic Concert’ of the story of the “Cowboy.” Not the naked cowboy, not the new country music cowboy, but the sho’ nuff cowboy herding cattle from, in this case, Bandera, TX to New Orleans, LA. He wrote characters and bios and a script and then pulled out 10 songs that help tell the story. It’s a hoot! (Sorry trying to get into character here.) We’ve got lasso lessons, a blacksmith over here, Cookie McCaan cookin’ up some good ole’ chuck wagon chum, and a card table set up with Slick Leroux dealing some Texas Holdum.

I love that our church is willing to go out there, waaay out there sometimes, to be experimental and try and have a good time.

I’ll have plenty of pics later and hopefully…drum roll please…my first VIDEO BLOG! SHOO DOGGY PARDNER HERE WE GO!

Here’s to an incredibly beautiful St. Patty’s Day and to some serious blogging coming your way next week!

Too Slim St. John signing off now, ya’ll be good.

The Cowboy

4 Responses to “The Cowboys!”


  1. April 4, 2007 at 11:52 am

    Orato Editor, Heather Wallace, interviewed him recently and, trust me, you don’t want to miss what he told her. For example, he revealed that he was turned down by both Star Search and American Idol and he truly believes that he’ll watch generation after generation pass before his eyes: “Worst case scenario, I’ll live to be 500 years old,” he says.

    Read the full article here:

    “The Tao of the Naked Cowboy”
    http://www.orato.com/node/2061

  2. April 4, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    I had some sense to take this comment from the blog but it’s such an odd and bizarre website that I’ll leave it up. I typically hate these shameless plugs that are usually just generated but its oddity has outweighed my common sense 🙂

  3. April 4, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    I think you had good sense leaving this in…our site is not odd or bizarre. Citizen journalism part of an ongoing revolution in media and Orato.com is one leader in the movement. Bloggers and citizen journalism can have a very symbiotic relationship, and I can see you would have lots to contribute. If you ever want to shamelessly plug your blog on a site that gets 60,000 visits a month, come on over to Orato and publish something…the water’s fine.

    Sincerely,
    Heather Wallace
    Senior Editor
    Orato Media Corp.
    http://www.orato.com

  4. April 4, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    OH AWESOME!
    Seriously, I meant it as a compliment of sorts. I know lil or nothing of your site, YET! I first thought your post was some random computer generated comment that searches for hit words and then plugs in a comment to feed people back to the site. Not that there’s anything inherently wrong with that, it’s just that my lil site here isn’t all that complimentary, I’m only up to 5k hits! HAHAHA.
    Odd and bizarre are what attracts me to websites because normal and typical are boring. So until I had time to further read your site, I stuck with those descriptions. It speaks volumes to me that you followed up with another comment! I’m very excited to peruse your site tomorrow!
    Thank you so much Heather!
    BTW…your not kin to any Wallaces here in Baton Rouge, LA are you?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


