25
Mar
07

There are moments in your life that change you. Experiences in your life that echo deep down to your very core. Times when you’re astounded and wish to scream out affirmations because you can’t believe that someone so passionately and eloquently revealing the things of your soul.

I have a handful of these experiences already but Saturday night adds another one. One that will resonate with me for some time. I caught wind that Donald Miller was speaking at my old stomping grounds, University Baptist Church. If Donald Miller comes within a day’s drive of your home, GO SEE HIM. I can’t even begin to describe to you what this was like. And honestly, I don’t think I’m suppose to! He spoke 2x tonight and will be preaching tomorrow. I almost called in sick from serving at my church to go see him.

I missed his first discourse on culture but saw his second message on The Gospel Message. I’m still freaked out by this man. It was as if we were sitting down in the living room having this conversation of life, gospel, literature, and culture over coffee. The man is astonishing. He proceeded to tell us how the Bible isn’t a set of ideas. Ideas won’t ‘get you to Heaven.’ There aren’t bullet points within this book that give you the meaning of life. It’s a way of establishing a relationship with a group of person we refer to as God or the Trinity. In an hour and a half he precisely unpacked: the Trinity, the fall of man, our roles as Christians, the human need, and how Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet is a beautiful depiction of the gospel story! And that hour and a half included the worst leading of ‘Come Thou Fount’ I’ve ever heard to a group of college students and 2 unworthy questions to bring this intelligent discussion to a close!

So for now, I’m speechless. I took like 3 pages of notes and that’s because my jaw hung for about 30 minutes. It’s another idea I have for a video blog. All these ideas and nothing to show for it yet, I know makes you skeptical. I’ve talked my Mom into letting me borrow their camcorder so I’m working towards it!

Have you encountered anyone like this that has rocked your world?? Have you heard Don??

7 Responses to “…”


  1. March 26, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Sounds awesome…I’m currently reading blue like jazz.

    I have heard and seen many who have rocked my world most of whome who have done so by showing me just how in tune a christian can be and should be with Christ.and I was planning to do a post on that today. lol so look out for it..the force is strong with this one

  2. March 26, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Planning on going to the Willow Creek Arts Conference in June; Miller will be one of the main speakers.
    I honestly didn’t care for Blue Like Jazz as a whole…there were good parts, but it didn’t blow me away like I had heard it would (maybe I was a victim of over-hype). Haven’t read any of his other books yet.

  3. March 26, 2007 at 9:36 am

    never heard him, but Blue Like Jazz was better than any pill i could’ve taken.

  4. March 26, 2007 at 11:11 am

    I’ve read most of his books, but have never seen him speak. Hoping to catch him and Erwin McManus sometime soon.

  5. March 26, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Erwin is a pure joy as well. I’ve heard a lot of his stories, and they’re all great.
    I think I could listen to Louie all day every day. Actually, sometimes I do because I have a ton of stuff on CD from conferences.
    Don just really surprised me. I had no real anticipation and he just relates in such a way that it was incredible. I think I actually liked The Velvet Elvis over Blue Like Jazz but hearing Don was something I won’t forget for a long long time!

  6. March 26, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    as promised a testimony and some things and people who blew me away
    http://cecworship.wordpress.com/2007/03/26/testimony-kinda-longsorry/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


