26
Mar
07

Privileged

So my youth group doesn’t look like your typical youth group. I’m working on building a high school program and right now we only have high school functions on Sunday afternoons at 4:30. I started with 3, dropped down to 1, and then this January got up to 2 kids coming. I now have 5 or 6 coming and only 2 actually come to our Church and our members of our congregation. (And actually only 1 of those kids actually comes regularly in the mornings.) The rest are friends that the 2 ‘members’ of our church are inviting to come!

I say that to say, my youth group doesn’t look like your typical youth group!

I was given an honor today. One of the kids (who belongs to my youth group but not our church) was asked to speak at Chapel for the High School class. See this High School is a private Christian academy and there is about 400+ kids that make up the entire High School. My freshman class was 900! My senior class was about 400 alone! This is quite a different environment for me! They gather together for Chapel 2x a week and sing and have a speaker. Wade was the speaker today, a 10th grader who’s charisma, humor, minute attention span, and dedication to what I’m trying to get going impresses me each week. He was invited by Billy, one of our regulars and has been coming ever since!

He gets up there and gives his life story. The pain of his childhood, his deadbeat parents, his loving grandparents, this war between wanting to live with his Father yet struggling because it’s an awful environment, and his miracle of making it back to Baton Rouge, at this school, and where he is today. How he turned to anger, depression, and finally the words of a close friend came back to haunt him, “Give it over to Jesus.” And so one night, talking to his dog Cosmo, he decided to do that. He got down and gave it over to Jesus. A month later, somehow he ended up back in his grandparent’s custody and here in Baton Rouge where he is now. He describes this as a miracle from God and an answer to his problems with his dad. He then challenged the entire High School class to give it to Jesus, we all have problems, big and small but give it to Jesus and he can bear that load with you. It rang through the auditorium like an anvil slamming down again and again: Give it to Jesus! Whatever you have: Give it to Jesus!

I was honored because when I showed up to see Wade and cheer him on, he greeted me and in his goofy, respectable way, told me that he had a chair next to him on the front row for me to sit in. It was a chair like the rest, but we sat together on the end of the row away from the other students during the music and announcements afterwards. I felt so privileged and honored by that. I felt so challenged by his talk. I am so thankful of God’s placement in these students’ lives and what they’re teaching ME! I never clapped harder than after his talk. It was awesome!

3 Responses to “Privileged”


  1. 1 Jim
    March 28, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    First, for the out o towners, the current ‘wee me’ with the fish looks the most like you so far. Did you do a cowboy?

    The “privileged” post is cool. God puts us in places for reasons and I sincerely believe God put you where you are for reasons. It’s often difficult to measure how we are doing: you know, “it’s not about acts/works, it’s grace, it’s your heart, blah, blah, blah.” I don’t even know who I am half the time as “only God really knows.” Your privileged experience looks like one of God’s paychecks for good work.

    As cool as music and some other loves are sometimes, not many will make you really feel God like your “privileged” paycheck. Did you cry??? Really? Don’t spend it all in one place.

  2. March 28, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Yeah I did a cowboy one before the Cowboys performance.
    No…I did not cry…

  3. 3 Jim
    March 28, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    I somehow missed the cowboy and it’s ok if you cried or got a lump in your throat or something like that. I probably would’ve had a lump in my throat.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


