10
Apr
07

This Day in Music – Worship Leader Profile

I received my copy of Worship Leader magazine today and the Worship Leader Profile this time around happened to be a local worship leader in town: Jonathan Stockstill. Jonathan leads worship at a church called Bethany World Prayer Center that is actually just outside Baton Rouge in Baker where his pops is the pastor. His brother is involved in things as well but I can’t remember in what.

…I’m not sure how to really feel. I’m totally excited a worship leader from our lil end of the nation is featured in a nationally read magazine like Worship Leader. I’ve noticed ads in there about Bethany before and he’s even had a song on their SongDiscovery CD before! But it’s weird though you know because it’s a church that I’ve tried out before and have been to functions before and have known people who go there and it’s not for me. So in a sense, it’s also a bit odd for me that they’re getting recognition. Does that make sense? I think I’m in a funk…maybe it’s the weather.

The article is pretty good. They misspelled his name in the title which is really inexcusable. I mean how did that slip by? It’s his name for crying out loud and they misspelled “Jonathan” the easy one! Other than though it was a decent article. A very informative, ‘behind the scenes’ story of how Jonathan came up to be a worship leader, his thoughts on having his pops as the Senior Pastor, and his take on song writing. I’m curious as to how I might answer those questions. Would my article be any more colorful? Our stories are just that: our stories. We can’t make them up, they’ve made us up. But it leads me to the question: How would I answer those questions? What would I say to:

  • How would you describe the makeup of your church?
  • What made up your journey as a worship leader?
  • How would you describe your connection/relation to your congregation and worship team?

What would you say?

13 Responses to “This Day in Music – Worship Leader Profile”


  1. April 11, 2007 at 8:00 am

    First off I’m not a big fan of stockstill. Israel is ok only with Tomlin. I also am very opinionated on the G12 movement which they promote. And have some big issues with it. But thats for another day. lol

    now to the questions. hmmm

    1. The make up of my church is mixed group of people. families, kids, old people, very old people, and young people. lol.
    We are a church that is trying to achieve the great comission. Love God love Others and show the world his love.

    2. Wow..interesting question. I got into mission work and God basically taught me how to play guitar in a day when we didnt have somebody to lead worship. Since then I know the call on my life is to lead worship, bring people into His courts, and write music that Glorifies the Lord

    3. Hmm. I try to be vocal and involved. i am not a fan of worship leaders who show up ..do there thing and then are never seen. I think in worship to truly be a good leader you need to be a servant as well

  2. April 11, 2007 at 9:43 am

    I was gonna try and answer my questions 1st but I’m so stoked Klampert beat me to it! And yes, issues for another day, hahaha!

    1. Our church is probably less diverse than I imagine in my head! Ha. I’ve been here a year and a half so I’ll give you my observation. Our mission is to reach the families of Prairieville. So our Children’s ministry is our most thriving ministry to reach children and then to also connect their parents. Unfortunately, the further away you get from a married couple with kids, the less there is to get connected with. But we’re a relatively new church plant so we’re growing and changing.

    2. Yeah well I’d definitely say it’s been a journey. I gigged in a band through college and had your typical dream of wanting to be a ‘Rockstar!’ So the idea of leading worship wasn’t really even on the radar. I learned guitar only to be able to back up my singing. Something happened when that band dissolved and the only place I could play was doing backup guitar for a couple praise and worship friends. It’s really all I see myself doing now really.

    3. I think a good/bad quality of mine is being able to bare it all up front. I try to prepare the songs as much as I can so that when we’re leading worship I’m able to spontaneously pray or share a story or my interpretation of the song and I think that connects a bridge to the congregation that here’s a guy up there that’s trying to connect to a big God just like I am.
    The worship team scenario is very similar I suppose. I try not to run a dictatorship in our preparing of the songs. I know I’m the designated leader of our team but the band has so much diverse talent and experience that the whole groups’s contribution is what makes us a great band. I try utilize them as much as possible.

  3. 3 snowjunkie
    April 11, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    worshipcity, that is a very honest account of your feelings about this article. No one really picked up on it (or at leasted commented on it), but you seemed slightly miffed that this guy got featured rather than you (or even another worship leader from your church).

    It was probably just a glancing thought at the time and I am glad you shared it. How do you feel about it now?

    Here’s a few random thoughts from my head when reading your post:
    * Just because it’s a church you felt you do not fit into to doesn’t mean God is not working there.
    * Just because this guy has been featured in a magazine doesn’t mean God thinks he’s a better worship leader.
    * Just because this church has received a bit of publicity, doesn’t mean God thinks it’s a better church.

    Why not ring this guy and give him a vocal pat on the back – a bit of encouragement you could say?

    Maybe I read it all wrong, and I hope I didn’t offend you with this. It wouldn’t be the first time I’ve had posted comments without reading and evaluating the post properly!

    I’ll try to answer your actual questions now in another comment – should you want to ban this one! šŸ˜‰

  4. April 11, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    SnowGuy..lol im think i like that name. lol

    anyway…i think you read conman wrong here. And I am kind of on the same page here but alot of it for me has to do with how that church and the G12 movement works. He may be a good worship leader but it is a seeker service which is kind of odd to showcase in my opinion. I don’t think he was saying at all he thinks he is more worthy to be in the article. I think he was saying he thinks other worship leaders make more sense.

    I don’t know stockstills heart but I do know something about that church and a seeker church to me is an odd church to showcase as relevant worship. Again I don’t know stockstills heart and i hope he is really seeking God through worship.

  5. April 11, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    Wow no thanks for slamming me with conviction šŸ™‚
    I reread the article again this morning and listened to the song featured on the SongDiscovery again on the way to work and you correctly picked up on an undertone I didn’t intentionally place out there in my post.
    The funny thing is though that as I looked at it all again I was thinking that even though I’m not a huge fan of his music or his church, he had the stones to act on his convictions. God’s blessed him with a style of playing and writing that’s different that mine but that is obviously reaching people. He took all those ads out of Worship Leader and submitted his songs and they got attention and God’s word was spread to other people and interest was peaked and an article was birthed out of it.
    What have I done? Half-heartedly given him a compliment as I sit at home reading while he actively seeks ways to spread his music.

    Yeah, it’s a gut check.
    And no, no striking comments from ‘the record,’ especially these kind!

  6. April 11, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    ha well you can strike my last comment turns out your are devious LOL.

    you gave him a nice plug though…so your even

  7. April 11, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    It’s tremendously scary and funny how much Klampert and I think alike for people who have never met! I do have my doubts in the ‘Seeker Sensitive’ model of church and how the G12 movements work. And I have no idea how they choose the worship leaders to interview for these articles. But there was some belly grumbling 6th grader inside me going, ‘What the crap? Are you serious?’
    There were a bunch of different feelings involved in that reading.

  8. April 11, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    HAHAHAH! We need work to do! We’re commenting like minutes apart from one another! That’s hilarious!

  9. April 11, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    that belly grumbling 6th grader in me says…
    “i miss having p&j sandwiches where the bread turns purple cus the jelly soaked through”

    oh sorry on topic…I think we are the same person in another life but it happened to be in this one.

  10. 10 snowjunkie
    April 11, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    To answer your questions:

    1. We try to create an environment that welcomes everyone. Our church is made up of mostly families, old and young. There are quite a number of children and young adults.

    2. I’ve never had any (real) ambitions to be a rock star or anything like that. I don’t even like being in the limelight all that much. However, I know worshipping God is something I have a gift for. I’ve had prophecies from different individuals over the years that are confirming the path I am taking. Recently I’ve had a desire to grow and develop even more. I’ve let things sit idle for too long.

    3. While leading worship, it can feel sometimes that I’m not that connected with what is going on in the congregation! šŸ˜‰ But I think it’s difficult to judge this when you’re on stage leading and trying to focus in on God. And when I get feedback after, it’s generally not at all as bad as I thought it was going! On a personal level, I agree with Klampert, we need to be first and foremost servents. We are not elite christians just because we lead worship. I try to be involved in church as much as my time allows. I think I have a good thing going with the band. We know how each other thinks and this is good for when I repeat choruses, verses and especially when finishing a song. They are very musically talented, much more than I.

  11. 11 snowjunkie
    April 11, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Hi Guys, glad I posted my thoughts now… heh heh. I have no knowledge of this worship leader or his church, so it was totally based off the post. I couldn’t even be bothered clicking on the article links… šŸ˜‰

    Half the time these magazines will simply publish self-written articles because of time contraints, they had no time to search for content. Don’t think anything more about it!

  12. 12 Michelle
    July 13, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Jonathan Stockstill is a strong man of God.He is very humble and his songs are completely inspired by the Holy Spirit.I’ve been to a conference their and they are all strong people in the Lord

  13. March 20, 2016 at 2:54 am

    It’s really very difficult in this busy life to listen news on Television, thus I just use web for
    that purpose, and obtain the hottest information.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


