16
Apr
07

Thank God You’re Here

Yes I am supremely grateful for YOU, friends, fellow bloggers, readers, community of Worship City but those 4 words are also the title of a new NBC series: Thank God You’re Here. I’m a huge fan of comedy, especially improv but I’m going to go ahead and call it here: CANCELED. I haven’t read anything from any site or magazine, I’m just going on my gut. Let me say that I love the idea! Unfortunately, it seems they took more from America’s Funniest Home Videos instead of Who’s Line is it Anyway?

TGYH

Great concept: take known comedians and have them open a door into a room/scene where everyone is in on the gag and the comedian must improvise with the others in the room. Having no idea what the scene will be, who they’re supposed to be, or what’s happening next a comedic battle royale with Dave Foley as the judge.

The problem is that in a show about improv, Dave Foley and David Alan Grier are so bland and scripted that it’s painful to watch. David Alan Grier is more Bob Saget and serves no real purpose other than randomly popping up in skits. Dave Foley is amusing but seems to simply be passing the time, and even in sitting in a Who’s Line style desk is reminiscent of Drew Carey unfortunately not allowed to keep the flow of the show moving or add in wit and candor.

You heard it here first in case it goes down 🙂

4 Responses to “Thank God You’re Here”


  1. April 17, 2007 at 8:22 am

    I never heard of this sounds cool…whose line is one of my favorite shows..

  2. April 17, 2007 at 8:36 am

    I totally agree! I watched it last week and winced the entire time. It was like they were trying SO hard.

  3. April 17, 2007 at 8:41 am

    I watched last week and was amused. But I am afraid that this shall pass..

  4. April 18, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Couldn’t agree with you more. I’ve seen every episode so far and have laughed out loud twice and smiled 3 times. Not good enough for me.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


