16
Apr
07

What to say

I was so busy today that I hadn’t even a clue regarding the tragedy around Virginia Tech. I don’t know what to say. I’m stunned watching the NBC special describing the events and simply don’t know how to respond.

One report stated the 1st shootings may have involved a Resident Assistant and I think of my years as a Resident Assistant on the campus of Louisiana State University. ‘Safety protocol’ were always the words that brought sighs and rolling eyes. Things like this simply never enter the imagination. Unfortunately it seems these acts are getting worse. I’m not sure what bewilders me more: what causes a human to inflict rage and harm on others and then turn that into self destruction on themselves or the healing process that the surviving families must go through.

I remember to this day, where, when, and how I felt learning of my friend’s death in an auto accident during high school. His case was much different from these and yet I remember my loss, what these families and friends are feeling…I don’t know.  I remember where I was on 9/11 and how our campus shut down with what was happening across the country. I can’t imagine a tragedy like this ON a campus and the effect it would have on the students and faculty of that campus. The largest single act of gun violence in America’s history I think is how they are referring to it. Every time that comes up will be a reminder of this day to those people.

What is going on in our country? What are we do to? What is there to say?

0 Responses to “What to say”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


