17
Apr
07

Do more

Do more than remember today. You won’t see your typical Thumb’s Up/Down or This Day in Music. I just can’t imagine ‘life back to normal’ today, not yet. I think what’s stunning is that this seems to be becoming the ‘norm’ and yet life hasn’t changed much for me or it seems for our culture/nation. They said last night that people would remember where they were when they heard about the Virginia Tech massacre. I don’t think that’s so. I wish it were! But I don’t think that’ll happen.

I saw them interview a brother of the girl who died from Columbine and I was thinking: “Sweet Lord, I don’t even remember the year that took place!” I’m so scared that life returns to normal today or tomorrow and they’ll have a week of memorial at V Tech this week and then the next time it’s brought up is when my kid reads about it in her history class in 10 years or until the next tragedy strikes.

Kiss your loved ones today. Educate your children. Show compassion and love to your friends. Call your Mom and Dad. I don’t have the answer but I want those around me to know what they mean and are cared for until I can think of something more.

2 Responses to “Do more”


  1. April 17, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    amazing but true…I cant remember when columbine is either…
    It’s a good thing 9/11 is named after it’s date.
    This is a very sad world we live in right now. And sadly hope is never preached. Gun banning…yes…condoms.. yes…ritalin…yes…Christ..Nope.
    I think that in this day and age there isnt remembering of where you were. I just wish churches could get past there petty differences and unite as one body and make a change…make a stand…unite in prayer.

    I hope this years national day of prayer ends up having more show up because if there ever was a time we needed to intercede for our nation it’s now.

  2. 2 Donna
    April 17, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    and you are cared for too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


