24
Apr
07

Thumbs UP/DOWN: A Schmorgazbourg Delight

Wow, been a long time, been a long time coming! Let’s not waste any more time and get down to some new releases!

Thumbs upUntil JuneUntil June – Wow a surprise hit and a late entry here. Sorry Kelly, you get the boot down one spot. (Not that these are in any particular order.) What a refreshingly sweet sound. Maybe I haven’t had my dose of Coldplay in a while but these guys have some throwback vocal harmonies and yet this incredibly lofty guitar tones. This is the CD I bought today. (Sorry honey, I did buy a CD today!) Feels like something I should have heard off the OC soundtrack! Girls! You get an added bonus to swoon over these moppy and scruffy bandmates as well! HAHAHAHA! This cool mixture of Keane, Coldplay, Death Cab, Seven Places, and The BeeGees works somehow!!! INSANE I KNOW! CHECK IT OUT HERE!!!

Thumbs upKelly ClarksonNever Again – The reigning American Idol Queen: Kelly Clarkson churns out another fist pumping, hair tossling, sing along in anticipation of her new CD! One I didn’t want to pass up, it was released last week but chica’s hot: VOCALLY people, her vocals are smokin’ hot! AI has given me Kelly Clarkson and Chris Daughty in exchange for my countless hours I wasted on earlier seasons and I’m much appreciative. This new single is reminiscent of “Since You’ve Been Gone” with much more class than Pink’s “U and UR Hand Tonight”(ahh…gaghh…I just threw up in my mouth a little…) while still grabbing hold of that teenage angst of breakups!

Thumbs downDonny OsmondDecades Vol. 1: Love Songs of the 70s – Do I need to even say anything more here? There’s just too much: Vol 1?!?! There will be more?!?!?! Oh wow. The most disappointing thing is that Billboard lists this in the ‘Rock‘ category of releases. Great googliemooglie.

Thumbs up Various ArtistsBluegrass Tribute to Velvet Revolver – I can’t make this stuff up ya’ll! It’s got all you’re favorite Velvet Revolver hits! HAHA! I haven’t found a way to hear them yet but can’t wait! This has got to be the best joke ever.

Thumbs down Avril Lavigne Thumbs upThe Best D*mn Thing – I’m sorry, I can’t justly criticize this release! I want to like it so bad but I can’t!!! On her last tour, Rae and I and 2 of our best friends were like the only ones over 15 without children at her concert and it was incredible! Girl sang, played the piano, played the guitar, played the drums, put on a show, and entertained us! But this heap ‘o crap just…ugh…poppy, explicit lyrics out the wazoo, new blond hair and no tie, average rating on iTunes, I just don’t know what to do…

Thumbs downHillsong UnitedAll of the Above – I just wanted to gripe that it hasn’t been released ‘officially/legally’ here in the states yet! I thought today was the day and apparently I’m wrong! I don’t want your lil 2 song EP, I want the whole thing!!

Thumbs upThe WeddingPolarity – A release from last week, these guys sound refreshingly contemporary and with a song like “I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead” how can you not love them? This was a hugely pleasant surprise on my iTunes display. 15 tracks for $9.99 and raucous guitars, good vocals, wicked tatts, and sweet logo, next step is to look at the lyrics! I hope they don’t disappoint b/c I’m loving what I’m hearing! I just wonder if they’re a little too late. This sound may be on it’s way out. Check them out though at their website and myspace!

ARE YOU NOT SATISFIED!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Responses to “Thumbs UP/DOWN: A Schmorgazbourg Delight”


  1. April 24, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Until June – EDITOR’S NOTE – I’m not taking my Thumbs UP away, I do want to put this out there though: Until June has New Found Glory syndrome. SEE my brain shuts down after like 4 New Found Glory tunes, it simply can’t take that dude’s voice that long! I try. I’ve actually listened to 6 songs in a row once but I cheated b/c I listened to one song twice.
    Until June use the vocals like another instrument with his falsetto AND he’s got a distinct crazy sounding voice that you will either LOVE or HATE probably. So check it out and see what you think.

    Just wanted to throw that out there for ya’ll.

  2. 2 snowjunkie
    April 25, 2007 at 7:05 am

    There’s a few videos for Until June on YouTube that are worth checking out…

  3. April 25, 2007 at 8:33 am

    New Found Glory syndrome …ha ha ha ha…
    is there a good charlotte syndrom also. lol

    Kelly clarkson rocks!
    Avril’s new single rocks but havent heard the rest
    Not a fan of pinks lyrics but that girl can sing

  4. April 25, 2007 at 9:59 am

    all of the above. I got it! neener neener neener!

  5. 5 Aaron
    April 25, 2007 at 10:58 am

    1. Why are you listening to Donny Osmond?

    2.http://www.goldusa.com/

  6. April 25, 2007 at 11:28 am

    1. Because I am a well rounded individual ๐Ÿ™‚ No I really thought it was funny seeing it listed under ‘Rock’ releases and I had to check it out.

    2. Pretty awesome. I got the link before you signed off. At first glance anything with ‘Best in Praise & Worship’ is usually crap. But they have some great stuff on there!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


