27
Apr
07

New Song Cafe

So the New Song Cafe this week is Brenton Brown interviewing Chris Tomlin with his song, “How Can I Keep From Singing.”

I happen to like these dealios, I watch them often to find out how artists are doing certain phrasings and how they’re using chord structures. This one was more funny than anything. Tomlin capos up to play a G formation in the key of Bb. He even makes mention that we’ll probably not capo that high. Turd. But it’s a G formation so not a whole lot new here.

2 things, and please don’t send hate comments my way, you see how big a Passion Head I am so this comes across like seeing your friend on TV and laughing at how he’s got that cow lick in the back because he tried so hard to get dressed up for the interview, it’s all in good humor people.

1. Brenton Brown…Herman Munster anyone??? He is so dang rigid sitting there!! Hilarious.

2. Vests are there to protect us. Life vests protect us from drowning. Bullet proof vests protect us from dieing. Sweater vests protect us from pretty girls Chris! That will not help your singleness 🙂

Check it out seriously, it’s a great song and the beginning Chris shares how he and Matt collaborated to write this song.

6 Responses to “New Song Cafe”


  1. April 27, 2007 at 7:14 am

    i LOVE BRENTON BROWN…BUT HE IS KINDA STIFF

    ha ha sweater vest. lol

    On the tomlin train …everybody is doing made to worship but me…are you? i dont consider that a worship song….I consider it a radio hit.

  2. April 27, 2007 at 7:57 am

    I do love Brenton Brown. I’ve shared before, he’s a guy you just can’t hate. And I do love Chris Tomlin too even though I’ve gotten off the Tomlin Train to introduce some other songs at our church.

    We aren’t doing ‘Made to Worship,’ as mentioned above, I got off the Tomlin Train and the last song was ‘Awesome is the Lord.’ I have played/sang it during our morning offering time though. I like the fact that worship songs are being written now that blur the line between what you think of traditional worship songs and ‘radio hits.’ I mean that worship songs were sooo simple and they were obviously written with simple melodies and chord structures and such. It seems new songs have been evolving and have become more stylized which I like. The fact that some songs are even played on Christian radio helps b/c it’s familiar to our congregation.
    ‘Made To Worship’ though has that crazy high bridge that is impossible to sing for a normal congregant so that’s why I’ve done it as an offering song and just left it out. B/c of that I’ve never given it much thought to the worship v. radio I suppose.

  3. April 27, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Sweater vests! Dude I am dying right now. That was good!

  4. April 27, 2007 at 10:26 am

    I dont have a problem with a radio hit being done in church i guess my dilema with that song is what makes made to worship a worship song….You and i were made to worship…its a responce song to your fellow brothers and sisters…its not talking to god and its not even an “I” song. it just doesnt make sense to me lyrically in worship.

  5. April 27, 2007 at 10:27 am

    by the way if you want to change anything visually on your site…buy the CSS upgrade and ill help you out

  6. April 27, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Yeah I see what you’re saying now.

    I’ll totally accept that help! When I cross that bridge 🙂 I enjoy this easy plug-n-play blog format and if I got caught up in being more visually stimulating I think Rae would definitely hate my blog! Besides, I’m still reeling from my flippin’ sweet blog banner! HAHAHA!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


