09
May
07

Toms Shoes

I don’t cry…often, but this nearly got me. You want to know how to express Jesus to your friends, family, and everyone else? After your shot on American television, go back and visit the countries you couldn’t spend enough time in because you were racing. Then, keep your eyes open to the world around you and decide to get involved in solving a problem. OH and how about making your solution one that is grounded and generous?

Blake Mycoskie (yeah I didn’t watch the Amazing Race so I didn’t know who this guy was) saw a problem with people living in poverty stricken places working and walking without shoes on. His business strategy is simple: For every pair of shoes you and I buy, he gives a pair away. Shoes for tomorrow.

Toms Shoes and/or Blake have been in Oprah’s magazine, Vogue, Time Magazine, more. I don’t want to glamorize Blake or Toms but it brings some validity to the work besides being freakin’ awesome that something like this is getting so much attention!

I bought the do it yourself kit to show to my youth. These shoes are stupid cheap: $38.00 and you can buy a kit with the white ones and decorate it yourself! Can’t wait to get mine! Get yours! Do something other than praying for others.

…yikes was that harsh?…I don’t apologize…do something…

4 Responses to “Toms Shoes”


  1. May 9, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Sounds a bit more like a good business plan than (just) a good cause…

    It’s a for-profit company making money on shoes. Now, I’m quite certain that impoverished kids really, really need shoes, but making a buck in the process may not be the best way to meet the need.

    Of course, maybe this is a good way to get shoes on the kids’ feet, after all, it’s not a crime to make money! My complaint is that there doesn’t seem to be any transparency, at least not at TomsShoes.com, about how much it costs to make these shoes, and how much money is made by TomsShoes when you buy a pair from them and they give a pair to someone. If it’s $38 to buy a pair, but they only cost $5 a pair to make, then that’s $33 a pair that apparently goes into the pocket of Mr Mycoskie and Co.

  2. May 10, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Hmmm…I don’t follow your logic? A good business plan is to give away 1/2 of your product? I understand what you’re saying though, I’m aware that probably within the cost of my shoes is a portion of the cost of theirs but wow! YEAH! I want to be a part of that! There has to be money made in it as well, I mean Blake gathers all these shoes up and flies to Argentina and has this huge shoe drop. There needs to be money for that. And this is an incredibly wonderful idea that benefits those in need for less than a pair of Chuck Taylors!
    Hold on, let me shoe you this video 🙂

  3. 3 Rae
    May 10, 2007 at 9:23 am

    The shoes are awesome!! Conner you look mighty stylish in them! It is for a great cause!

  4. May 10, 2007 at 9:24 am

    I too fail to see the problem here. Let’s say he sells the for $1000 a pair and makes $995 off each one. He’s still giving away a pair of shoes for every pair he sells.

    How is that a problem?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


