10
May
07

WARNING: Tears alert coming!

This is a tear jerking video to show you what happens with these shoes! (Sorry I can’t stop talking about this just yet.)

And you know the sad thing? I don’t even know if this Blake dude is a Christian, I’m assuming he is but that could be way off. If he is that’s great. If he isn’t…and this is scary…if he’s not a Christian…and this terrifies me…he’s looking more like Jesus Christ to people than perhaps you and me.

Like them or not do something! I’ll have some other options up for you be the end of the week 🙂

13 Responses to “WARNING: Tears alert coming!”


  1. May 10, 2007 at 10:53 am

    Tom actually is a Christian, there is an interview with him talking about the whole thing over at 722. It’s on the April 24th one about Reacting to extreme poverty. It’s awesome.

  2. May 10, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Sorry I mean Blake not Tom.

  3. May 10, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Thank you Victor! That’s awesome. I’ll have to go check it out.

  4. May 10, 2007 at 10:59 am

    HAHAHA! I didn’t even catch that. BLAKE spoke to us at the Orange conference and even joked about that: “My name is NOT Tom! It’s Blake. My mom even jokes and calls me Tom now!”

  5. May 10, 2007 at 11:41 am

    So since the video was put here, I’ll continue the discussion from https://worshipcity.wordpress.com/2007/05/09/toms-shoes/ here 🙂 .

    I don’t have a problem with profit being made on this sort of thing, I’d just like to know what sort of profit was being made. If it costs fifty cents to make a pair, and they make $19.50 per pair, then it’s no big deal for the company to give away a pair, since then it’s like they’re making $19 profit per pair bought. In that case, it looks like the helping-people-who-have-no-shoes aspect is nice, but that the main point for the company is that giving away shoes and the PR it brings causes more shoes to be sold.

    The only reason this is something to consider at all, is that if the main point is to make money instead of helping people (which would then still be a point, just not the primary one), then there is likely a way to do this so that impoverished people can get more shoes. A non-profit company could likely do this sort of thing and give away a lot more shoes to a lot more people, while still paying its expenses.

    The PR machine on the shoes is HUGE, almost as if this were more of a corporate thing than a grassroots thing, which makes it, and the apparently lack of financial transparency, look slightly fishy. The guy is admittedly good at starting companies — he started four successful companies by the time he was twenty-four.

    Bring on the protests! 😉

    P.S., it sounds like the link to the video/audio of Blake is from NorthPoint Church, and he actually mentions that his Mom calls him Tom, so either it’s what you heard in person, Connor, or the guy reuses his jokes.

  6. May 10, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    I bet he reuses that joke 🙂

    Dude, I may be too trusting but I totally don’t care. Hahaha. I mean seriously its a shoe for $38.00. Tell me the last shoe you bought for less than that? And I don’t know enough about grassroots stuff but I’m excited that this guy is out and being put in all kinds of secular magazines and he’s causing a buzz about it all. I dig that. I think I would share your sentiment if these shoes were like $60-80 bucks or something expensive? or if all of a sudden prices starting taking off because of popularity sake.

    I did find this that’s again exciting: “And what’s also comfortable to know is that the shoes are produced in Argentina under strict ‘no sweatshop’ criterias, made from local materials such as canvas and leather.”
    So now new jobs have been made to create these shoes by the people who also need them?
    I ultimately don’t care if you buy a Toms Shoe or not…no…honestly, I really do I guess, I’m totally selling them here 🙂 but more importantly, I want us to look at making a difference. We pray for people all the time, this guy saw a need and a way to meet it. I simply wish we did that more often. I’m not knocking prayer in any way, we need that as well. But let’s not forget about our actions. AND if we do something let’s do it EXCELLENTLY and do it right. If we’re stuck somewhere in a place where we think we can’t then let’s join up with someone who is and support them. That’s all. I’m joining up with Toms right now 🙂

  7. 7 Carmen
    May 11, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Hi Conner, I read your blog every now and then, but haven’t felt the need to respond till now. I gotta agree with Jonathan on this one and say that the whole shoes thing just seems like a big PR scheme. First off, $38 is not all that cheap for shoes. The last pair I bought were around $18. And I DON’T like that Blake is creating a buzz about it, because it just comes off as self-promotion. BTW, I’ll be in BR soon, so looking forward to seeing you.

  8. May 11, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    HEY CARMEN! Yeah, we’re looking forward to ya’ll coming in town.

    Real quick!
    I’m glad not everyone agrees with me. I hate that its over this 🙂 but I’m glad. If this blog is only everyone shaking and nodding their heads then it hasn’t fulfilled everything I intended it to be. So thank you for your disagreement.
    Information alone doesn’t effect people but by conversing and ‘blogging’ (since I can’t speak or hang out with many of you) we create this community of sharing thoughts and our stories and personalize concepts and ideas. Which is what I believe impacts people. Thank you for your contribution!

    …an no one commented on the video which means to me that it looses some of its impact online by yourself than in a room with 4,000 other people 🙂 hahahaha

  9. May 11, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    OH and apparently my Comment Moderator flags all you who disagree with me! HOW IRONIC! Everyone who has agreed gets their comment auto posted but I’ve had to approve Carmen and Jonathan’s comments! I don’t know how that happened but I think it’s funny 🙂
    Apparently my own blog is trying to hinder our community!!

  10. 10 Carmen
    May 11, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    That is funny about your Moderator! I wondered why it said “your comment is awaiting moderation” right after I posted! I didn’t comment on the video cuz I couldn’t sit thru it. Seemed way too scmaltzy.

  11. May 11, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Yeah, usually if you inbed links in your comments I have to approve it, my blog must be trying to keep me from opposing viewpoints! HAHAHA.

    SCMALTZY! I have no idea what that means but I want to use it! Awesome word.

  12. 12 Carmen
    May 12, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Here you go–the definition. Sorry I misspelled it in my post:
    schmaltz Pronunciation Key – shmawlts
    –noun
    1. exaggerated sentimentalism, as in music or soap operas.

    so something schmaltzy is full of schmaltz

  13. May 12, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    great video great business…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


