15
May
07

THE RACE TO 10,000 IS ON!!

So I’m somewhere around 9200 hits right now and by my estimation, I’ll hit 10,000 hits next Friday. I could idly sit by and watch each day and then Friday say, “Hoorah! 10,000 hits! Yay!” But no one reads blogs on the weekends and it would go unnoticed and I like throwing parties but since I can’t invite many of you over for a “I Hit 10k Hits Bar-B-Que Bonanza” I thought I’d throw in a lil contest and give some fortunate member of this community some goodies while hoping to spread some shameless plugs for my blog! HAHAHA!

So here’s the deal, I don’t want to wait for 10,000 to roll in next Friday, I want to race to 10,000 and have that many hits by say…Wednesday, yeah that’d be nice…oh oh what about next Monday?…WHAT ABOUT THIS WEEKEND?!?!?! That would be as they say: “CA-RAAAZY!” And I think we can do it! Here’s how and here are the rules:

  1. For every contribution* to a post b/w now and the 10,000th hit you get your name thrown in the hat.
  2. For an inbedded link on your site to my site between now and the 10,000th hit you get your name thrown in the hat 2x.
  3. For every contribution* by a new member of this community that you referred here, you’ll get your name thrown in the hat 2x. This should be fun and a total headache. I suppose the only way to monitor this is for that person to give you some credit in their post. For instance: “Hey Klampert showed you some love. Digging the blog. I too think Linkin Park’s new CD is good but not great.” Maybe that’ll work?

So yeah. That should be fun. A few different ways to get your name thrown in the hat and then after I get 10,000 hits here, I’ll write up all the names, put them in the hat and draw a winner! A sponsor is in the works πŸ™‚ So, maybe I can get a couple winners. We’re looking at iTunes gift certificates here! $10.00 minimum and if my boy pulls through it’ll be more or a couple winners!

SO LET THE RACE BEGIN!

*Contribution vs. Comment: Comment is simply meaningless gibber to get your name in the hat more. Ex.: “I commented!” Where as a Contribution is actually a remark with some style of meaning behind it. It can be as little as sarcasm, agreement, disagreement, whatever but some content here. I don’t think anyone here has ever simply ‘commented’ before but I want to make the distinguishment for the sake of the contest. So, if you’ve ever commented here before you know what I’m talking about.

23 Responses to “THE RACE TO 10,000 IS ON!!”


  1. May 15, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    I’ll take some of that action. I was so tempted to do one one of those things that you didn’t want but I didn’t… I think that should count as two for this comment. It never hurts to ask. =)

  2. May 16, 2007 at 6:06 am

    I’ve got a little milestone of my own coming down the shoot. I’ve been wondering how I’d celebrate. You’ve given me some good idea’s!

    (Chalk this up for one entry!)

  3. 3 snowjunkie
    May 16, 2007 at 6:24 am

    What you want to do is visit a few other blogs and leave really controversial comments… that usually generates a bit of traffic… πŸ˜‰

  4. May 16, 2007 at 6:47 am

    ha ha ha…yeah snow junk boy…

    Mudpuppy gave you some love..

    great idea…why didnt I do anything milestone wise…grrr…it seems in about oh 200 days ill hit 50,000…
    maybe ill do something for 25,000

  5. May 16, 2007 at 6:49 am

    oh and dude im missing your lost posts….I NEED TO TALK ABOUT THE SHOW WITH YOU…arg…but if we did i would personally have 600 entries on your site..

  6. 6 sam
    May 16, 2007 at 6:53 am

    Um, mudpuppy sent me. does it count for him or me?

  7. 8 Jim
    May 16, 2007 at 7:14 am

    I feel some sort of blogger discrimination… I don’t have a blog spot of my own and I don’t have iTunes; thus, I can not qualify for all the entries made available to others without spending money and I can’t enjoy the prize if I win. I happen to have a few friends who feel the same way and they asked that I speak for them.

    Can I get double bonus points for referals from my “philo-friends” like Platonikos Musikos Dictum, Gypsy Worshipper and Random Concert Junkie?

    If I win something, I would rather it be that I get to download $ 10.00 worth of tunes of Platonikos’ choosing onto your iPod for playing before rehearsal for the summer.

  8. May 16, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Jim-

    Both Blogspot and iTunes are free. Unless of course you’re referring to time, in which you must invest 5 minutes to download and install.

    Free Blogspot Β»
    Free iTunes Β»

    (This is contributing rather than commenting, no?) πŸ™‚

  9. May 16, 2007 at 7:19 am

    I have a comment in moderation due to links. Does this count as extra….

  10. May 16, 2007 at 7:39 am

    WOW! You guys have taken off! This is AWESOME!
    Few things:
    – Anyone contributing gets their name in a hat! If that someone is referred here then the ‘referrer’ gets in as well! It’s like a twofer!

    – Jim – you have iTunes b/c your daughters and son use it for their iPod. And yes, Mud is right, Blogspot, WordPress, several others are free and your ramblings would be hilarious to read πŸ™‚ Until then, tell your “philo-friends” to contribute and you’ll get entries. Not that that would count as ‘referrals’ b/c you can’t refer yourself even if you have multiple-personalities!

  11. May 16, 2007 at 8:15 am

    I don’t even own an iPod. I’m not a big music listener. http://www.tekphreak.com/blog/rolly get banned from the blog for saying that, eh? *sigh*

  12. May 16, 2007 at 8:17 am

    I have no idea what the heck happened in my comment that it added a weird link in it. =/

    that line read I’ll prolly get banned … but a link showed up in place of the “I’ll p”. Weird.

    Maybe it is God working, as the link (sans the /rolly part) takes you to my best friend’s blog who has bene dealing with serious heart issues. He went back into the hospital last night, so please pray for him and his wife.

  13. May 16, 2007 at 9:02 am

    No banning Raivynn. That’s probably more important than my silly contest. Glad to see you stopped by and thanks for the link.

  14. May 16, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    I visit daily. I gotta update my blogroll on my own site to show who i visit daily … =/

  15. May 16, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    Seriously, did I win?

  16. May 16, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    So it’s EMbedded, not INbedded. I’m sure you’ll view grammar correction as a proper contribution to the quality of posts such as this one.

    If you go to http://www.schellack.net/jonathan, you’ll see a link to your site on my sidebar, which shows up on every single page of my blog, which means I’ve got 50+ links from my site to yours.

    So you’ve at least got to give me 51 entries!

  17. 18 Kimmy
    May 17, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Wow 10,000 entries is a lot. But you have a lot of friends and if they forward to their friends and their friends forward to theirs friends, it could easily reach 10,000. I don’t think I have ever had 10,000 comments on anything. This is my contribution towards your goal with no interest in winning anything but only helping you achieve your goal. πŸ˜‰

  18. 19 Sammy Sue
    May 17, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    WOW!!! That is definitely a lot of hits. Good luck! I think it will be interesting to see how many you get. Kimmy sent me here. I will be checking back to see how its going!

    Be blessed!!!!

    Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying……Romans 12:12

  19. May 17, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    Jonathan I am seriously glad you pointed that. I could not figure that out for the life of me! I tried several different ways and each time the lil red squiggly popped up saying, “No dufus you’re misspelling that word!” I never tried putting the M instead of N.

  20. 21 scooter
    May 21, 2007 at 7:29 am

    i’m on!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  21. 22 Heather
    May 31, 2007 at 10:27 am

    I hope you make it this weekend, that would be Awesome!!! I’m alittle late my friends sent hits like 2 wks ago (there’s no way they are working!!) But this on still count towards your goal – so here’s a hit baby one step closer!!
    Good Luck!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


