30
May
07

Any suggestions…

I’m gotten myself into a terrible bind, if you couldn’t tell from the lack of posts lately. There is much to talk about but I’ve been stressed to the max regarding worship this weekend. (Last week’s was incredible and can’t wait to talk about it but this week’s is cramping my style.) Here’s the dilemma:
I have no drummer!

I have no drummer, nor do I have my regular guitar player. I’ve asked every drummer in every remote circle I know of (which is 4 others) and none is working out. So what have you done w/o drums? Broken your music way down? I have bass, keys, and background vocals. Any song suggestions? Any arrangements? This is not my comfort zone so ANY suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

OH and I have 2 winners from my Race to 10,000 that will be uploaded in video format hopefully tonight! WOOHOO!

8 Responses to “Any suggestions…”


  1. May 30, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    At our place we’ve done many acoustic sets. We’ve also utilized the keyboard for our percussion. It’s good to break things up a bit.

    Funny that you have no drummer. We’ve got 3 in rotation and 2 wanting in. Drums and Bass are all the rage in Michigan apparently.

  2. 2 Brent
    May 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Actually, we never have a drummer. And it works out great.

    No real secret. Just the guitars workin’ together.

  3. 3 worshipguitarist
    May 30, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Do you have a djembe or a set of congas or anything? I saw a guy lead worship with a guitar and a tambourine on the floor. He just tapped quarters on it. It sounds kinda weird, but it worked surprisingly well. Just a thought.

  4. 4 worshipguitarist
    May 30, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    By “quarters,” I meant quarter notes. I reread what I typed and realized that it could sound really strange.

  5. May 30, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    Yeah we have a percussion set: congas, bongos, chimes, djembe’, etc. just no one to play it. I’ve done the tambourine thing on the floor 1x before and yeah I liked it but I can’t do it, play, and sing all at the same time very well. B/c I don’t like it throughout the entire song.

  6. May 30, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    oh man…drums and bass are real hard to find here…We just lost our bass player 3 weeks ago..so now we are guitar only…
    It’s hard to do distortion rock, but it is easy to do pretty much everything still. and very easy on the worship leader because you dont have to worry about musicians

  7. 7 Jim
    May 30, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    I hate it when that happens 🙂 You can do most songs without the drums and have it sound good and as mudpuppy points out; “it’s good to break things up a bit.” Remember most of the songs you like were probably written on the acoustic guitar… “feel the force Luke.”

    You, Mr Tin Soldier, have a bass ( bring in the stand up if Kirby’s playing ), acoustic guitar, piano (I think the acoustic piano pad for the acoustic set) and you can get one of the backing vocals to play a little egg or tamborine to taste. If it’s going to be acoustic, go acoustic and encourage any foreign e-guitar player to stay on the clean side to help connect the dots but not fill the holes with unecessary noise.

    Go with the flow and don’t swim upstream and it’ll be great.

  8. May 31, 2007 at 8:44 am

    i didn’t have a drummer for over a year in our college group. 1st: don’t apologize for not having one. 2nd: have faith in your community that they will still worship without drums, because…HE is worthy. 3rd: just rock it acoustic style! 4th: bass and piano sound great together, just make sure one of them fills some more gaps ie. longer held chords, vamps, or big “eggs” on the bass. I like the acoustic to be the banging one.

    Check out some YouTube videos of Leeland doing acoustic in a mall or something. just search for it and you’ll see what I mean.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


