01
Jun
07

28

28 years ago today I broke the silence for the first time. I was a healthy 10 pound 11 ounces baby that probably had my Mom thinking twice about having another child! Hahaha. I don’t remember any of it. I can imagine it slightly having the birth of my daughter seemingly fresh in my mind. It was probably way crazier and messier nearly 3 decades ago. Sweet Jesus, 3 decades.

Age is a funny thing. I moan begrudgingly as I see 30 right around the corner. Everyone older than me sighs and tells me how much of a kid I still am. Everyone younger than me sighs and tells me how old I’m getting. Its really, really, weird. Time has begun to look really crazy lately.

  • I’ve been in a relationship with my wife for 10 years. A whole decade! That’s nuts.
  • I’ve been playing music for nearly 10 years.
  • I’ve played music in a live setting now for 8 years.
  • I’ve spent 5 years in college.
  • Now 5 years out of college.
  • I’ve ‘owned’ a home now for nearly 4 years.
  • I have 3 years of ‘professional, real world’ job experience.
  • A little less than 2 years ministerial job experience.
  • I’ve had a dog for not quite 2 years.
  • I have a daughter who’s 19 months old.

28 years.

Its funny actually. Looking at that list, I just categorized everything within the time frame of dating my wife to the birth of my child. That was 1 decade. I had nearly 2 before it. 2 decades of my Mom and Dad teaching, caring for, encouraging, disciplining, correcting, humoring, and pushing me the best way they saw fit. 2 decades of pouring into me the best way they saw fit. And I love them for it dearly. I am very proud of who I am today and how hard I’ve worked to get to where I am and I think that’s a gracious blessing that I’ve received.

Wow, this post took me like 40 minutes to write and took a wild twist of thought. Happy birthday me!

12 Responses to “28”


  1. 1 Jim
    June 1, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Happy Birthday! I didn’t know it was your birthday:( You should have sent a sign… a Sign… A SIGN…

    Aging is a wierd thing. You’re accumulating and grooming experience that largely influences how the ensuing years feel to you. Wife, child, family, friends, career, interests… treat them with respect and remember to look to the horizons so as to not drift excessively from your course. Your sight may blurr from time to time with glare from sun, dark at night and stormy seas. Let God fill your sails and enjoy the ride knowing that His charts are true.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. June 1, 2007 at 7:41 am

    Happy birthday.

    Just wait…it gets worse. And better.

  3. June 1, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Happy Birthday Buddy! Hope you have a killer time!

  4. 4 Ali
    June 1, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Happy Birthday, Conner! Have a great one!

  5. 5 Carmen
    June 1, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Happy Birthday Conner! Sorry to tell you, but you were “only” 10 lbs. and 1 oz. when you were born. I should know, cuz I was around. And don’t tell me you’re getting old. Come back when you are 37 (arghhh!) and we’ll talk. 🙂

  6. June 1, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    happy birthday!

    (and thanks for the congrats on the engagement!)

  7. June 1, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    HAPPY HAPPY JOY JOY….happy 28th…

    im right with ya…my 30th is june 9th

  8. 8 snowjunkie
    June 2, 2007 at 5:47 am

    28! Man, you’re still a baby! Heh heh. Happy Birthday! I feel so old now.

  9. June 2, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Happy Birthday.

    Your summary of the last decade may have been short, but it was a great one!

  10. 10 donnasowens
    June 2, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    you’re old.

  11. June 3, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Hey. I am about to finish post production for the next Soulcast and knew that you said you tried calling before and the number sicked. Well it is fixed. I need some Red Byyyyyyrd love.
    Los
    206.457.1971


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


