08
Jun
07

Ocean’s 13 at 12

Oceans 13

Last night after worship practice was over, kiddo was asleep, and the wife turned in for the night, I scooted off to the MoLA and caught the midnight screening of Ocean’s 13 with some of my kids from the youth group and one of their dad’s. Its the thing I like about doing youth. Its the thing I like about being a Christian. Sharing life together. Seeing what comes up. How Jesus is brought up at movie theater at 12:30 in the morning on the back row. Not that information and education aren’t important. I’m not saying that. I’m just saying that I think, especially students these days, learn more or will remember more the experiences we share and how I might have reacted in a certain circumstance more than they would what I said in front of them this past Sunday night. Both are needed. The education and teaching is fundamental and critical but so is real world experiences where word takes on flesh and we find out if we really believe any of this stuff we’re talking about on Sunday!

That’s probably not why you’re reading this post though so allow me to get back on track here:

Yeah, don’t watch the longer previews. Don’t go find anything else out about the movie. Be satisfied with that minute and a half and if that does it for you go check out Ocean’s 13. After the release of Ocean’s 12 in 2004, George Clooney and Steven Soderbergh got slammed for being lazy and self-indulgent by the critics. George says the working title for 13 was: Oceans: The One We Should Have Made Last Time. That’s mighty bold talk and sets me up for some great anticipation!

It’s a complex, layered elaborate scheme that this time around you really care about the outcome! And how could you be disappointed with a roster like this???

  • George, Brad, Matt, Don, Casey, Carl, Bernie, Andy, Al

I mean those are the name that I know of that I don’t need you to tell me their last names and I know we’re talking about the same person. Then we have:

  • Scott Caan, Elliot Gould, Shaobo Qin, Eddie Jemison, and Ms. Ellen Barkin!

That’s quite possibly their greatest strength AND weakness. I mean b/c how could you NOT have the greatest movie with all those actors! (Tremendous kudos go out to rangling up Pacino ane Barkin! He is devilishly incredibly bad and she somehow is smoking hot. I didn’t see that coming. Well I expected it from Pacino and BOY DID HE DELIVER!) I don’t think they pull of the greatest and I honestly don’t know if it even beats out 11 for me but it was a ton of fun!

The pace is like a 2 mile sprint. It hits the ground running and doesn’t give you a bathroom break once. The laughs are constant chuckles with some laugh out loud moments as well. The cast is gloriously sexy. This is one thing we’ve come to expect from the Oceans movies, the style, look, food, lodging, dialogue, banter, hair, glasses, sunglasses, camera angles EVERYTHING has this certain old school throwback charm in a new sexy, glamorous way. (I hate that I know how to spell that now thanks to Fergie.) There is even a reference to Frank Sinatra here that may be there way of paying homage to the original Rat Pack. I was satisfied with the ending but there’s still something about the original that, for me, they haven’t been able to recapture. It’s great but there’s still something missing and I don’t know what it is. There’s a fun minimal plot line that is more meaningful if you’d watched Ocean’s 12 but its still fun if you haven’t. I don’t have a ‘rating scale’ but Rotten Tomatoes gave it 70% Fresh! I’d probably bump it up to 85%. It was fun and entertaining and much more reminiscent of the 1st. I’m glad I went!

I really can’t wait for the DVD and hope it’ll be chock full of extra behind the scenes goodies! This movie is getting great reviews and people are loving it and you may as well. I think I’ll pop in Oceans 11 and relive what Billy and Rusty were doing that got me hooked in the first place 🙂

7 Responses to “Ocean’s 13 at 12”


  1. June 8, 2007 at 8:56 am

    Great review man. I will tell you honestly I was on the fence about this one because of the last one. I actually fell asleep in the theater in the last one. That was the first and only time I had ever done that. So with your sparkling words I will go see this new installment. As to your comments about not being as good as the first one, I have found that unless the first one is absolutely horrible the sequel will never be better just because the experience isn’t new anymore. A first experience is very hard to re-create. Sorry just my .02¢

  2. 2 scooter
    June 8, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    CAN’T WAIT! I think we are going to see it tomorrow afternoon 🙂 I agree with Superman above, I also feel asleep during 12. Even with all the hot and gooey goodness of the cast….boring.

  3. June 8, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Scoots I wish you’d have been there, my imagination heard you giggling all throughout the movie!

  4. June 9, 2007 at 8:43 am

    I didn’t think i’d like Ocean’s 11 and missed it in the theaters. Rented and loved it. Did not see 12. Partly due to finances, timing, and poor reviews. I may go see 13, though. Lots of good reviews on it. Not that i base my viewing habits on reviews.

    For example, the first Fantiastic Four movie was generally panned, and even though being a huge comic fan, I still enjoyed the movie for what it was, not what I expected.

  5. June 9, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Oh oh! I want to see Rise of the Silver Surfer!!! BADLY! Yeah, I enjoyed Fantastic Four but I had to really overlook some things. It got me really excited if they were to do another one, and it looks like they’re not going to disappoint on this one.

  6. 6 scooter
    June 10, 2007 at 5:43 am

    well….I LOVED IT!! no snoozing during this one!! The plot, yeah, impossible of course. (also, caution….a few spoilers ahead for those who have not seen the movie!!)

    Conner – I agree with your review on almost every detail…..except…. Pacino. I thought he was horrible. The only “bad” part that was good was the first 15 minutes of the movie when he screwed over Reuben. The rest (in my opinion 🙂 were poorly delivered lines.

    I think Damon shined in this one and maybe he was suppose to. It’s like we have watched his life as a criminal blossom throughout the 3 movies and then he is still being rescued by his daddy! LOL!! Justin named that one early on.

    I loved loved loved the old school references between Danny and Rusty! And the references to Sinatra and stuff. WOW. well done.

    Anyway, nothing is as good as the first, in any sequel, but this one runs really, really close.

  7. 7 Brandi
    June 13, 2007 at 11:24 am

    This movie was off the hook….better than the 2nd one and mmmm mmmm mmmm, BRAD!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


