21
Jun
07

I once was blind but now I see…or hear…

If I could find my power cord to my camera you would have some goodies but alas I’m a dork and my camera is dead and I can’t find the cables.

Tonight I was able to do something that I’ve been wanting to do for some time now and realized afterwards that I needed to do it along time ago! That is, get out from in front of the room. Do you know what you sound like at your church? I’m not talking about how well you played or any of that, I mean do you know what is truly falling on the ears of your congregation? It truly is an important and pertinent question!

My sound team is made up of volunteers of various level of expertise and I know it gets out of whack sometimes. I had a buddy of mine who leads worship for me when I’m out of town come and lead worship for me this weekend while I am in town and I decided I would run sound tonight at practice and for Sunday. It was insane. I learned all sorts of horrible things as well as truly how wild it can be back at that board! HAHAHA. Wow. I can’t stress the education that I got from it and how “ear-opening” it was to be back there. PLUS it was a ton of fun!

Quick pre-practice run-down:

  • Re-organized the board to make things more intuitive as to where they are laid out
  • Looked at sub group organizations
  • Printed new board and snake masters
  • Line checked all the channels

Quick practice recap:

  • dB check and recheck and again and well this was just constant throughout
  • dabbled in some eqing
  • after preliminary ‘mix’ walked room listening for dead spots!
  • Identified that the pastor has the worst spot in the room to ‘hear’ the music!
  • mixing, mixing, and more mixing! I honestly would mix a song and wander the room. PFL channels and then see if I could find them in the mix. Bring them out and let them disappear to hear the difference. I must have done this with almost every instrument.
  • Fiddled with our effects processor just a tad. What does ‘Grand Hall’ truly sound like on the lead vocals 🙂

So I’m curious…what do you do? Or is this even an issue for you?

Next week, I’m taking the entire week off. My buddy is leading worship and I’m going to set up shop in the corner and just play guitars and maybe sing background in a mic. Maybe just to myself! I CAN’T WAIT!

4 Responses to “I once was blind but now I see…or hear…”


  1. June 22, 2007 at 2:16 am

    i led worship for a couple years – then took a position in another church running the media – all the AV. It was an interesting few years. I learned that worship leaders and musicians can be real pains in the arse (myself included). Running the console is a HUGE responsibility! You can have the baddest sounding band, have the greatest worship leaders heart, get all fired up, but if your sound engineer’s no good – it will sound like junk. Also, if you do not spend time investing in that relationship he/she may not understand the importance of their position. Now that I am back leading worship, I have a new respect for them and their job – I think that their position is probably one of the most important in today’s churches.

    Anyway – I hope that wasn’t a rant. All to say – every worship leader should get back behind the boards often. To see what is really going on and to ENCOURAGE their audio people – it’s a tough tough job!

  2. June 22, 2007 at 7:15 am

    They only let me play bass when all other options have been exhausted. But trust me … it’s a one man wrecking crew up there when I get to!

  3. June 22, 2007 at 7:19 am

    oh yeah…I do sound also…what a pain…we had a local sound pro come in and tweak our set up for $100 and we did it every couple of months or so to fix anything that got botched up. lol

  4. June 22, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Alex that wasn’t a rant that was spot on! Great stuff man!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


