03
Jul
07

This Day in Movies – Transformers

So last night I took a truck full of my youth to check out one of the premieres of 1 of the 2 most highly anticipated movies of the summer for me: TRANSFORMERS (I cannot wait for the Bourne Ultimatum!!) I love chronicling what time I get in from crazy wild things. Last night however I snapped a pic of Optimash Prime in the kitchen so I wouldn’t wake up Rae.

Optimash Prime

I’ll try not to give anything away, it’s not like this movie is suspenseful in the least bit but its just a ton of fun and I don’t want to take away any of that for you. So I’ll try my darndest not to ruin anything! Here we go:

GREAT ENTERTAINMENT! Playing with Transformers as a kid and all I just couldn’t wait for this movie this  year! I still remember seeing the 1st preview and practically wetting myself! Michael Bay did a good job of trying to give his audience what they wanted:

  • TONS of transforming Transformers!
  • Angst troubled leading character who doesn’t quite fit in at school, can’t make the football squad, can’t get the girl, and doesn’t know how to be ‘cool’ (so to all of us WE RELATE! HAHAHA)
  • Hot leading lady
  • Quirky parents
  • TONS of action
  • Laugh out loud moments
  • 1 Bad @$$ Villain!!!
  • For the good of mankind theme
  • And for the casual drop ins – Josh Duhamel and Tyrese as ‘the law!’

Seriously, this is a well done Actiomedy! I mean yes, it’s Transformers and yes from start to finish there is non-stop transforming Transformers!! And thank goodness too because if I didn’t get to see my favorite crazy toys as a child go from trucks/tanks/jets/cars into huge crazy robots I was gonna be PISSED! I got to see 2 and a half hours worth of transforming Transformers and that was wicked!! But in the midst of all that were these hilarious laugh out loud and chuckle quietly to yourself moments that were totally unexpected! I mean Shia LaBeouf did do an outstanding job of this quirky coming to his own high school kid battling getting his own car, an embarrassing friend, trying to get the girl, awkward parental moments, AND saving the world all at the same time. I dug him.

To me though Bumble Bee stole the show! He was hysterical. What they did with some of these Transformers was pretty creative. I guess he stole the show until Optimus Prime showed up and the theater nearly burst into applause!

But what’s funny to some could come off completely cheesy to others. There are those moments too.  There’s something about him, he did it in The Island and the Bad Boys movies, Pearl Harbor, and it was all over the Rock, just these moments where it’s almost like going out of his way for a laugh in this Action heavy movie. There was this weird mix of political humor that was out of place for me. I don’t know, must be working for him though because he’s still able to do it.

The biggest letdown of this movie though: the soundtrack. Not the one you can buy on iTunes because that one’s pretty wicked!!  Linkin Park, Smashing Pumpkins, The Used, HIM, TBS, and romantic hug your girl Goo Goo Dolls song (it’s subtitle is even Sam and Mikaela’s Theme…awww how sweet! Haha) I’m talking about the ‘score‘ I suppose. It sounded like he just lifted all the hot spots from every other doomsday/suspenseful movie ever done before. It was just tired and old and to me didn’t fit the vibe for a movie like this.

Worst letdown of all for all us Mutemath fans was that their remix of the Transformers Theme was no where to be found! Not even in the credits! I don’t know what toolio goofed that up but it should have been in there! IT’S THE THEME COME ON!!!

Like I said, not a suspenseful movie. A good plot setup in the beginning. There becomes a point where everything falls in line and you’re like, “I know where they’re going with this! SWEET!!!” and to me it slowed the pace just a bit because I so wanted to get to what ultimately became the climax of the movie. The big pay-off 🙂 which was greatness!

Wildly entertaining! It is a whoopin of 2 and a half hours so prepare your bladder before you go in there! I give it 2 huge Thumbs Up, a pat on the back, and a Route 44 Cherry Limeade! GO SEE IT!

3 Responses to “This Day in Movies – Transformers”


  1. July 3, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Wow I talk too much. Sorry about that guys.

  2. July 5, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Much better than the previous, 1am, one word (“SATISFIED”) teaser of a review. I just had to see it before I could wait for your full review, so I got permission from the wife to leave her and the newborn baby at home and went to a wonderful, digital, Independence Day matinee showing.
    And on one point I do have to disagree – the action at times made the movie suspenseful, even if the plot wasn’t so much.
    This was definitely a fun, entertaining movie!

  3. July 8, 2007 at 11:40 am

    great review…heres mine..
    http://ac180.com/2007/07/06/movie-reviews-been-a-while/

    oh and I own that optimash prime as well. lol


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


