10
Jul
07

Thumb’s UP/DOWN: Can you stand more music after Live Earth?!?

I can 🙂  but I’ll be light and brief hopefully!

Thumbs up Interpol: Live on Letterman – The 3rd release from Interpol was being watched closely by critics. Apparently not enough difference b/w their first 2 releases and this one is the sink or swim test. If their performances tonight have any indication of what their new CD “Our Love To Admire” will hold then I’m totally interested! I’ve never performed on a late night television show (yet) but I would imagine it’s quite difficult. They were really good tonight, tight, interesting, and sounded great. The Heinrich Maneuver was the song they used to wrap up the show with and I totally dug it! Quirky and cool stops with that borderline boring melodic voice he has! HAHA.

Thumbs up White Stripes: Icky Thump – OK, OK, OK I know I try to hit the CDs released TODAY or in the past week and this one was released like last month but I just saw the video for the title track single Icky Thump on MTV’S Rock Countdown yesterday and I’m all over this! There’s something so refreshing about this track! I don’t know if it’s because I’m just in this sick and tired rut of everything sounding the same and this totally does NOT! I’ve always respected these cats because of their weird eccentric nature and the fact that there’s only 2 of them but it was never pleasing to listen to for me. I just didn’t dig it. HOLY CRAP! Something in Icky Thump I dig! Wild, weird, crazy, raunchy, simple, again if this single is any indication of the CD then I’m all over it!

Smashing Pumpkins: Zeitgiest – So after a 7 year hiatus, Smashing Pumpkins is back…well the name Smashing Pumpkins is back we’ve got half the original band here but its a return to the Smashing Pumpkins and not Zwan or the solo projects that have kept Corgan and company occupied over the past few years. I’m a little on the fence regarding this one. It’s gonna take another listen through. SP broke out on the scene and wowed me like Nirvana and Pearl Jam and the likes and their back but…I don’t know. There’s some hard core songs on here mixed with Corgan’s unique vocals and interesting guitar tones but it almost feels like something…maybe…missing??? I’m not sure. Personal angst has been traded in for some politically charged tunes which I suppose happens as people get older and mature, subject matters change and grow so I’m not totally surprised by that. I’ve always enjoyed the juxtaposition of the hard rockness of SP with songs like Tonight and 1979 and such and I didn’t really get that this time. I’m sure die-hard fans will eat this up because it is familiar but I need another listen through.  I kind of expected to get wowed again after 7 years and I’m not wowed…yet.

Live Earth: Apparently you are able to pre-order the Live Earth CD they’re creating although it won’t be available until August. The only track they have listed is John Mayer’s “Waiting on the World to Change.” I’m real interested in seeing who’s going to pop up. Apparently Metallica already jumped on the bandwagon because they have their own lil Live Earth tribute EP available NOW! I’m not a huge Metallica fan sadly and so I didn’t get this or even listen to it so purchase at your own risk 🙂 I will tell you however that the 3 tracks are:

  1. Sad But True
  2. Nothing Else Matters
  3. Enter Sandman (whoever that guy is…KIDDING! I’m kidding!)

So yeah, I’ll keep an eye out for updates on that CD, it should be very diverse and hopefully really good!

7 Responses to “Thumb’s UP/DOWN: Can you stand more music after Live Earth?!?”


  1. July 10, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Quick clarification: “they” and the pre-ordering I spoke of with the Life Earth stuff is from iTunes just a lil FYI.

  2. July 11, 2007 at 9:07 am

    I am really stoked about the pumpkins CD…

  3. July 11, 2007 at 10:10 am

    That’s all I get?!?!
    “I am really stoked about the pumpkins CD…”
    HAHAHA
    I knew that I was hoping you had some input on the new CD too. I’m curious what you think.

  4. July 11, 2007 at 11:58 am

    ha ha ha…sorry
    Ill buy it this week and let you know

  5. July 11, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    Ok I bought it…

    did you listen to the whole thing?

    It is fantastic…Whats really impressive is in the liner notes it says…chamberlin:drums Corgan:the rest…there are no other musicians on this CD…corgan did guitars all vocals and bass and keys and other little cool sounds…amazing
    It starts off with an angst gothdrive vibe and goes into vintage pumpkins sound with some very cool almost 80’s soaring leads.
    Very theatrical…the end is reminiscent of the odd slow songs on Meloncollie…I have to listen to it again, but right now I say this is a must have CD if you like pumpkins. Corgan throws a new flare on it and you just realize how much of an underrated genius he is.

  6. July 12, 2007 at 8:11 am

    I’ve got to admit that’s the most impressive thing I think as well. Corgan grabbed Chamberlin and then hired a road band. But he did the rest as you said. Pretty incredible. Alot like this new band I’m in to: The Almost. Underoath’s drummer decided to do his own side project and EVERYTHING: songs, lyrics, drums, bass, guitar, keys, backup vocals EVERYTHING is that one dude. He got someone else to do some slide guitar and strings but the rest is all him. Those people make me disgusted 🙂

    Yeah, I need another run through of the CD. I think b/c the hype was so much going into maybe…I don’t know. I def liked it. I’m not sure what I was expecting.

  7. July 12, 2007 at 10:15 am

    I think it comes down to which smashing pumpkins sound did you prefer..

    Gish
    Siamese Dream
    Melloncollie
    Machina
    ZWAN

    for me melloncollie is one of the top 10 CD’s of all time…

    This was a little of that with a little old school gish thrown in and a drop of angst ridden siamese dream.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


