12
Jul
07

I’m having an affair

That just rocked all you RSS readers who get the title of my posts only! HA!

HOLY MOSES this guy just celebrated his 5 year wedding anniversary!!

Blame it all on Donald Miller if you will. It’s obvious that throughout the Bible, God is interested in having a relationship with us. Very rarely, seldom really does God answer the questions like: If I take a right turn at Albuquerque will I meet Mrs. Right? And if God chooses to answer those questions its very rarely, seldom really that He answers straightforwardly with a YES or NO. Jesus speaks over and over again in this metaphor of the Bride and the Bridegroom to show this relationship between God and His people. Jesus does a ton of preaching but many of the environments we read him being in are over dinner at so-and-so’s house or in this person’s home and even his interactions with the 12.

So why is it that we treat God as a Cosmic Google? And then when we don’t get our answers we get all pissed off? Why is it that we try to come to God like He’s a 12 Step Program and that if I can pray 3 times a day (not counting over meals, 1 has to be on my knees and 1 has to be out loud), if I give 10% to my church and another 5% to ‘those in need’ each month, if I don’t say 5 cuss words, if I don’t drink, if I don’t chew, if I don’t hang with girls that do then I’ll get closer to God and I’ll “feel” closer to Him? Now all of those things are wonderful and good things to do. Great things to do many of them! But I wonder if we approached Him like a Him? I think sometimes we put the cart before the horse. The cart being our actions and the horse being our heart attitude.

Are we in love with God?

If I was in love with God how would that change my actions and behaviors? What does being in love with God look like? I mean I can talk about the President all day long because I know things about him but I don’t really know him. Is that the same thing with my relationship with Jesus?

So, I’m not really having an affair I think, yet. Don’s just brought all these things to the surface and they’re bubbling. If you haven’t heard this then check it out:

I never liked Jazz music because Jazz music doesn’t resolve. But I was outside the Bagdad Theater in Portland one night when I saw a man playing the saxophone. I stood there for fifteen minutes, and he never opened his eyes.

After that I liked Jazz music.

Sometimes you have to watch somebody love something before you can love it yourself. It is as if they are showing you the way.

What am I in love with when people look at me?

6 Responses to “I’m having an affair”


  1. July 12, 2007 at 8:55 am

    gotta love donald miller!

    Hey, I fixed my human tetris post. If your a big tetris fan, then you’d love to be on this show…

  2. 2 Kimmy
    July 12, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    This has to be your best post yet. It is very thought prevoking and great for discussion.

    “If I was in love with God how would that change my actions and behaviors?”

    In my opinion, you would want to do things you felt God was leading you to do. You would be more like Jesus in loving people, serving people, and spending time getting to know God through HIS word (The Bible).

  3. 3 snowjunkie
    July 12, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Very thought provoking indeed. Excellent.

  4. July 13, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Great post! Got me thinking …

  5. July 16, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Blue Like Jazz is a fav around my house. Good food for thought.

  6. July 19, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Great “chew on this” kinda food.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


