This Day in Music – Alter Bridge’s Blackbird!

First Single “Rise Today” Hits Radio On July 30th

July 23, 2007 – New York, NY – Universal Republic recording artists Alter Bridge have announced the name of their forthcoming second album will be Blackbird.

Clocking in at almost eight minutes, the title track is clearly one of the masterpieces of the new album. “We felt like Blackbird was the perfect song to use as the title track for this record,” lead singer/guitarist Myles Kennedy commented.

Though a majority of the album is not as dark thematically, we really hoped to draw attention to what we felt was one of the most challenging yet gratifying songs we’ve ever written. It was inspired by a friend of mine who passed away as the song was completed; it’s a story about the struggle to move on to a better place. It was my wish for him to finally find his peace.

There are many differences between One Day Remains and the band’s new album Blackbird with the most notable being the full integration of Myles Kennedy as a guitarist and songwriter (Woohoo!) . While One Day Remains was largely written before Myles came on board, this time around, it was a collaborative effort with Mark and Myles sharing the songwriting duties, while all four band members worked on the arrangements.

It’s a natural evolution after three years of working together,” Mark Tremonti stated. “We knew Myles was an amazing singer, that’s why we hired him. What we found out when we toured the first record was that he’s also an incredibly gifted guitar player and songwriter, as well as a vocalist. It would have been a crime not to utilize all that talent. We wanted to use every weapon we had in our arsenal for this album.”

Blackbird will be the follow up to Alter Bridge’s debut album, the Gold-certified One Day Remains, which peaked at #5 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums Chart its week of release. That release featured three consecutive hits on rock radio: (“Open Your Eyes,” “Find The Real,” and “Broken Wings”). The first single from Blackbird “Rise Today” has already gotten substantial early airplay before the official add date of July 30th.

Comprised of Mark Tremonti, Scott Phillips, Brian Marshall and Myles Kennedy, three of the four members of Alter Bridge made up the 30+ million selling band Creed. The band will be hitting the road upon the release of Blackbird this fall. Touring details will be released at a later date.

Full Track Listing For Blackbird
1. Ties That Bind
2. Come To Life
3. Brand New Start
4. Buried Alive
5. Coming Home
6. Before Tomorrow Comes
7. Rise Today
8. Blackbird
9. One By One
10. Watch Over You
11. Break Me Down
12. White Knuckles
13. Wayward One

Alter Bridge

Oh happy freakin’ day!!!


3 Responses to “This Day in Music – Alter Bridge’s Blackbird!”

  1. July 24, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    First off welcome back. It is posts like this that make me wonder if we were brothers separated at birth. Creed was one of my favorite bands back in the day. Mainly because of Mark. He is one of the best Rock guitarists of all time. When I heard he started Alter Bridge I ran out and bought the CD. Also as you did with Lifehouse I went to a Alter Bridge Concert and met the whole band. I’ll have to post the pictures sometime today. Anyway thanks for the heads up man I love theses guys and have been waiting for the new cd. Again Welcome back bro.

  2. 2 zay
    September 16, 2009 at 12:04 pm


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


%d bloggers like this: