07
Aug
07

Get Delirious?!?!

I’m going to be labeled a heretic here but here goes: I’ve never been all that into Delirious. I mean there was such hype and love always around them, I never totally got it. I loved loved loved what was it? Live and in the Can? And then there was Cutting Edge. And after that, I either loved a song or found them…boring. I don’t know they didn’t capture me. Not that I don’t appreciate and respect and have mad props for what they’ve done in the Praise & Worship realm, it just wasn’t enough to buy all the CDs and be a huge supporter.

Then came Now is the Time: Live at WillowCreek. It was a CD+DVD combo and I’m a total sucker for those! I got it real quickly after it came out, played it a few times and got bored and its been riding around in my center console now for months. Probably b/c I was tired of the 3 United CDs, the Almost, Donald Miller, and Francis Chan, and b/c my iPod battery was dead I rummaged through my console, found that CD and popped it in.

OH…DEAR…LORD…blow away was the only thing I can say! I mean the 1st 5 tracks are retarded! They’re insane! The voicings and blend of the ethereal keys and wicked killer guitar tones are sick! The DVD is even more satisfying! These cats are stellar! That’s the only way to put it! I’m a huge fan now and am trying to figure out which of the 1st 4 tunes we’ll do 1st at our next Youth Service! There’s a quality here to me in this CD that most bands these days miss out. It’s this simplistic approach to everything having it’s place. Every instrument not having to play at 11 the entire song or at 2. There are parts w/o guitar and such and the emphasis it has when it does come in is nasty, it’s how good it is!

So, I’m Delirious?! What about you?

5 Responses to “Get Delirious?!?!”


  1. August 8, 2007 at 5:52 am

    I’ve always kinda felt that way about them. they were a springboard for most of the passion artists. Here they are a british rock band doing worship songs—they kinda sorta started that whole thing…

  2. August 8, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    I think some of thier CD’s have been killer and some not so much, but they are one of the greatest bands christian music has ever had…and even better live

  3. 3 snowjunkie
    August 10, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Delirious are amazing. I’ve been to see them several times in concert. At one of the concerts the power blew and Martin Smith played a couple of numbers on his acoustic guitar with no amplification. The crowd joined in and it was great!

  4. 4 Mannu
    January 23, 2008 at 12:53 am

    I got the first taste of Delirious when they came to Mumbai (India) on 19-Jan-2008, and i must say that i was hooked. The sheer energy in their live praise n worship is out of this world. I dont think i am going to miss any of their future concerts anywhere in India.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


