10
Aug
07

My hiatus

So, I’ve pretty much been redialing myself over the past few days. I apologize for my short little hiatus (if I’m even using that word correctly!) I was just floored after watching Los‘ moving announcement. I mean it was an announcement! But it was real. I don’t mean real as in of course he’s real; he’s not a unicorn! I mean real as in it truly resonated within me.

Many of you know that I pull double-duty at my church as Worship Pastor and Youth Director. Well that stage of my life is at it’s end. I’ve been blessed with a growing youth group. What that means is more expectation! With 2-4 high schoolers I could take them to Smoothie King and talk about life. Now with 15-22 high schoolers though, I need volunteers to help out, Back-To-School-Bash-O-Ramas, youth services, trips, etc. Besides the element that someone is always texting or emailing me 🙂 It’s a great problem to have but its to the point where it needs someone dedicated to Youth not split between that and leading worship on Sunday mornings.

Well, surprisingly, I’m truly torn. I’ve always been a musician and seen myself in that light. What scares me is that I’m really getting into this Youth thing. I just imagined with this time came, I’d pass the youth torch to someone else without blinking but I don’t know if I can…or should do that anymore. Its a decision that affects not only myself but my wife and kid(s) and after seeing Los’ announcement I realize I haven’t taken it as serious as I should have. So, long story short…TOO LATE…I’ve just been reevaluating what’s important to me. I decided this blog IS important to me. YOU are important to me. So, I’m not going away. I just needed to prioritize a little bit. If it hadn’t been for this blog or for Los to kick my butt in gear I never would have seen his post in the 1st place. I’ve learned and shared and heard so much from all of ya’ll that I don’t want that to stop. But I need to make sure it doesn’t come at the expense of my family and focus for them.

Thanks everyone!

7 Responses to “My hiatus”


  1. August 10, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Conner, I am sure God will lead you to do what He intends for you to be doing. Prayer is the answer. I’ll keep you in mine that the Holy Spirit will move in you, and guide you.

    I hear so much excitement in your posts when you speak about working with your youth group. You have this awe and wonder in your words, almost as if you cannot beleive how much you see God working in those kids’ lives. That is a rare quality in someone, to be able to follow God’s will with open eyes full of love, wonder, and joy. Those kids are lucky to have you.

    Leave it in God’s hands. He will place you where he wants you. The hard part is submitting your desires to His will and following through. Listen to your heart. It’s where He will be speaking to you.

    I wish I had a youth director like you when I was growing up in church.

  2. 2 los
    August 10, 2007 at 10:38 am

    bro. I’m a musician as well but it was time to take a break and focus on something else. pastoring the creative community at Buckhead.
    I’ll always do the music thing; but I get to pastor them now. which is bigger in my book. at least for me right now.
    los

  3. August 10, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Hmmm it says I have no comments here yet, I see 2 new comments supposedly belonging to this post…any WordPress vets here know what’s going on?

  4. 4 Rae
    August 10, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    So you know I love you!! I will follow you in whatever your choice is. I always have and always will.

    Rae

  5. August 10, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Conner,
    I totally feel ya. I have served as a youth pastor in two different churches. I’m currently on the job hunt and this time around I looking specifically for worship jobs.
    Pray.
    Fast.
    God will lead you in the right direction.

  6. August 10, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Ive been in the same boat as weill buddy. for me Ive landed on worship…

    Ill be praying for you…come back soon dude

  7. 7 Jimbo
    August 10, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    Yes, you used the “Hiatus” word correctly.

    God’s always speaking, the Holy Spirit’s always working. Be quiet and listen, consider applicable scripture, pray, seek counsel of respected bros/sisters in Christ, consider the circumstances God has allowed/presented, be discerning of deceptive signals (not of God).

    Doing what the Holy Spirit tells you is often a good idea. His plan is big! BIG! TOO BIG TO FIGURE IT OUT BIG! Do what the Holy Spirit tells you.

    After He tells you, let me know how I can help.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


