28
Aug
07

Thumbs Up/Down: Collective Soul, RSB, By the Tree, Foo Fighters…

Thumbs upCollective Soul : Afterwords – ***WARNING*** I love Collective Soul! I’ve seen them in concert. I have just about all their CDs. It’s weird, for me there’s Tonic and Collective Soul that will inevitably fall off my radar and then just as inevitably find themselves back in my rotation and instantaneously I’m in a happier world because of it!

I hadn’t even the slightest clue they had a new CD coming out. I’m buying it tomorrow. The clips I listened to tonight on iTunes are RAD! Yes, RAD! Immediately I’m brought back to seeing them in concert at the Varsity with Rae and being stupified by how insanely awesome these guys were! Ross Childress is one of my heroes (we had a moment at the Varsity, he looked me in the eyes, nodded, and tossed his pic right at me! He’s wicked cool!)…that’s the only letdown of this album. He’s no longer with the guys. They’ve got a newbie that I’ll scrutinize to death and probably feature him on another post.

Thumbs upRobbie Seay BandGive Yourself Away – Another band I love. He’s got such a raw voice it makes me tremble sometimes. Give Yourself Away is a much needed followup to Better Days and does NOT disappoint! I’m so happy too! Can I say that this CD is beautiful! It’s beautiful! Literally, figuratively, imaginatively! Its simply beautiful! Vocally, guitar riffs, drum tracks, lyrically! Beautiful!

Thumbs downBy the TreeBeautiful One The Best of By The Tree – …and I just threw up in my mouth…please stand by while I go brush my teeth…ok that’s better. You know, By The Tree was an insanely creative, fresh, fun band that I enjoyed listening to. In that regards, this CD is great because it highlights some of the great songs off those fun, creative, inspiring years before Kevin left: the songs from Invade My Soul. There are a couple of other standouts that I’ll give you like Hold You High…and…uh…no that’s the only one I’ll give you. I’m sorry but you can’t name your greatest hits CD off a song that YOU DIDN’T WRITE! Sorry, that’s a little pet peeve of mine. I can’t stand these bands now getting famous off UK artist’s singles! I mean and here they’re featuring Beautiful One AND Rain Down! COME ON!

Thumbs downNellyWadsyaname – Please stop churning out crap and being illiterate…dang it…threw up in my mouth again…

Thumbs upFoo FightersThe Pretender – So we’re all left with a good taste in our mouth. Let us enjoy one of the musical magical masterpieces, a man with more talent in his left hand than most artists who make it big, a band who gets the ‘groove,’ Jimbo listen to that glorious old school meets arena rock riff in the bridge drop out!! and a video that’s not some band rocking out on a beach or the top of a building:

8 Responses to “Thumbs Up/Down: Collective Soul, RSB, By the Tree, Foo Fighters…”


  1. August 28, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    I always sleep better at night knowing that they’re out there fighting foo…

  2. August 29, 2007 at 12:20 am

    Hey .. did you see that Robbie Seay band is GIVING AWAY their CD?

    See here:
    http://www.fredmckinnon.com/myblog/2007/08/25/robbie-seay-band-free-cd/

  3. August 29, 2007 at 6:41 am

    We were too late Fred.
    It’s now over 😦

  4. August 29, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    I was late as well…
    COllective soul is and was amazing…now if only extreme would get back together.

  5. 5 worshipguitarist
    August 29, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    You should be relieved to know that that the new RSB disc is totally worth the purchase price. I’ve been tabbing stuff out for the last couple of days and you’ll see it popping up on my page here and there.

  6. August 29, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    OH YES! Thank you Worshipguitarist. I’m sorry, I’ve been listening to this CD ALL DAY! And I mean even at iTunes it’s only $7.99! Some of the tracks are just stellar!

    Klampert you are more than words my friend 🙂

  7. August 29, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Oh and everyone make sure you check out his site at:
    http://www.worshipguitarist.wordpress.com

  8. 8 Jimbo
    August 29, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    I do like the Foo Fighters tuneo.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


