29
Aug
07

How Far We’ve Come! Will it ever stop?

I mean what a week! It just won’t stop!

It was my senior year of high school, probably the spring of 1997. I used to stroll around Circuit City, for all you newbies, that was the place to go because the electronics mogul that is now Best Buy hadn’t exploded yet. Circuit City would have new upcoming artists CDs on sale for like $9.99 or $7.99 or something ridiculous like that and I was a total sucker for them. That day I picked up 2 CDs. I couldn’t decide between the confused fat guy staring at me or the girl peeking through her hands at me so I bought them both on impulse. It was all over after that. Matchbox 20 (that was before they began spelling the “20”) and Third Eye Blind instantly became favorites of mine.

Rob and the boys have had considerable more success but I still dig what Stephan and them do to this day!

Matchbox Twenty however will forever be one of those timeless bands I always listen to. They’ve always been there for me! The 1st two songs I ever learned on the guitar were at the same time and they were: Let Her Cry by Hootie and Hang by Matchbox Twenty. Hang was the song I’d play and sing after everyone was toasted with a good buzz and want to hear before they fell asleep in our dorm room! HA. I saw Matchbox in concert that 1st year at LSU at the Varsity. It was the Spring semester, I remember vividly because it took my roommates an entire semester to get me drinking. And that night was my first encounter with Jagermeister: an awful concoction of cough syrup and alcohol. Even still, I remember the band blowing me away in this quaint college town venue and furthering my love for the band.

A few years later the band came around again. This time though they had received stellar reviews and a sophomore release that was sending everyone MAD! Too big for the Varsity this time around, we trucked down to New Orleans and saw them in the New Orleans Arena. Still bigger than life and just filled the place up! It was incredible!

I don’t think they came around after the 3rd release? If so I’d have been there. It looks like I’ll get the chance again here about 10 years later to see them again! How Far We’ve Come is the new single for the new CD coming out apparently in 33 days 1 hour 39 minutes and counting. It’s exploding on the radio and was even featured in an episode of The Hills already! Preorder info isn’t even up yet and no mention of it on iTunes yet but as soon as they do I’ll let you know!

SO MUCH MUSIC THIS WEEK! Forgive me if I’m in my own world with my ear buds this week and miss you 🙂

Matchbox Twenty

8 Responses to “How Far We’ve Come! Will it ever stop?”


  1. August 29, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    ROB FREAKING THOMAS….awesome stuff man…

    oh yeah bring back all those old bands…
    dishwalla
    toad the wet sprocket
    sponge
    gin blossoms…

    oh baby

  2. August 30, 2007 at 7:54 am

    DUDE! Dishwalla! Toad! Gin Blossoms! HAHA! Yeah that’s a great list.Man we were separated at birth 🙂

    I’m not familiar with Sponge. Someone new to check out!

  3. 3 worshipguitarist
    August 30, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    This pretty much sums up my opinion of Matchbox 20 (Twenty?):

    Check it out

  4. August 30, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Man that was hilarious and such a punch to my gut at the same time! HAHAHA! I love the Onion. In Chicago you could get it in paper form like other newspapers! It was awesome!

  5. 5 Aaron Crawford
    August 31, 2007 at 11:26 am

    I had tickets to go see Matchbox 20 but never got to because they cancelled the day of the show…the reason? It was September 11, 2001…I will never forgive those terrorists!

  6. 6 worshipguitarist
    August 31, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Well, at least you’ve got your priorities straight. :rolleyes

  7. August 31, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    I feel your pain Aaron.

    The year was 2005. U2, Coldplay, and Dave Matthews were on the slate.

    Coldplay and Dave were ruined by natural disasters Katrina and Rita and postponed/canceled. Tickets refunded 😦

    U2 tickets bought and fell through by long story fall out with friends. Next venue to see them at Atlanta was the weekend after my daughter’s birth. My wife wouldn’t let me go.

    I’ll never forgive those natural disasters and my w…ould you look at the time!

    🙂

  8. 8 Angel
    September 8, 2007 at 7:58 am

    If you check iTunes now, the album is available for pre-order and will be released on Oct 7, 2007!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


