02
Sep
07

Movie Roulette…win some but not this time

It was between:

  • I, Robot
  • Friday Night Lights
  • Crank
  • A Scanner Darkly
  • Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrels

I knew Rae was going to fall asleep on whatever I chose, hence the testosterone heavy list, but how I chose A Scanner Darkly out of that line-up, I’ll never know.

It’s the 2nd movie in my lifetime I’ve actually been tempted to turn off within the first 15 minutes, and as with Punch Drunk Love, I’m still wondering why I didn’t?? To begin to try and convey the bizarreness of this movie would cause me such pain and headache that I won’t even try. Allow me to just say: It’s bizarre and may that translate to “so bizarre I won’t be able to comprehend it’s bizarreness.”

HOWEVER, after coming in here and pulling it up on Wikipedia I’ve become much more satisfied and fulfilled on my assumptions, most notably that I was supposed to feel like I myself had just underwent a bad drug induced episode! OK, good! It worked.

Sarcasm aside, without knowing anything about the movie before you watch it, could truly be painful. I found out alot about the author, Philip K. Dick, from Wiki that made sense of much of what you see. The movie itself is incredibly done, that’s the best thing I can say about it. I truly loved the way it was shot/animated. That made for the most interesting piece, that and Robert Downing, Jr.’s ability to ramble and talk in ways that fascinatingly amuse me 🙂 The downside is that there’s no soundtrack to this movie. That is INCREDIBLY UNCOMFORTABLE and downright awkward. It may have made the majority of why I wanted to turn it off within the first 15 minutes of the movie.

…I may take back my statement about wondering why I didn’t turn it off. It is art and some people just don’t like certain forms of art. However, this movie (and book from what I’ve read) isn’t your typical climax, good feeling resolve, happy feeling left in belly movie. And sometimes that’s OK, in this instance though, it didn’t do it for me. And with a line-up of Keanu, Wynonna, Downing, Woody, cool Biblical metaphor, and cool art I wanted more.

A Scanner Darkly

3 Responses to “Movie Roulette…win some but not this time”


  1. 1 Ali
    September 3, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Yeah, that movie was very very weird. You should have gone with Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. That one is a winner.

  2. September 3, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    so yeah, A Scanner Darkly does do a great job of being one long drug trip, but the question is (or should have been)., do you really want to sit through that!
    I did enjoy the ‘twist’ toward the end, though it wasn’t unexpected by that point.

  3. 3 worshipguitarist
    September 4, 2007 at 7:12 am

    1) Punch Drunk Love was a great movie. It’s not even in the same league with the other Adam Sandler movies.

    2) You definitely should have gone with Lock, Stock… A Scanner Darkly was OK, but nothing too special.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


