04
Sep
07

Thumbs Up/Down – Hillsong’s Savior King

Thumbs down Hillsong –  Savior King: Hillsong is confusing me. I’m not entirely sure what they’re trying to do here and it’s got me all persnickled. Back in the 90s they were notorious for churning out the hits!…as well as CDs like busy little bunny rabbits down there! The business they’re in now is releasing a United CD then a Hillsong CD back and forth and double dipping musicians, songs, etc. I’m not sure the angle here. Is the talent in the United camp that great? (Oh yeah it is!) Do we need to hear the same song though on 2 or 3 different CDs? (Oh no, not really, no!) So, I’m a little concerned. The worst case scenario to me is that there will no longer be a distinction between Hillsong and United, just 1 ‘blended’ band that nobody will enjoy 😦

I’m a United guy! I’ve never liked Hillsong, never was a Darlene Zchech fan, and just tend to do things differently all around. So it’s just been recently that I’ve given ‘Hillsong’ another listen to and the reason is stated above: they’re using the guys that I DO like on their CDs! This time they’re reusing songs off All the Above that was just released a few months ago and have even named the CD after a song on that record! WHY? Probably because it’s one of the best ones on there. To me, the United tunes stand out the most, however not much is different except a highly produced and excellent quality live recording!

The 14 tracks seem a bit much for me for some reason. I get lost right in the middle.  The United tunes here feel ‘contemporized’ to me and I don’t enjoy the mass choir behind them. The Hillsong songs here feel like Hillsong songs. To me, I get the feeling of a ‘blended’ worship service, and I hate those 🙂 Not to some, this is going to be a sweet new album. Probably, Hillsong fans. If you liked Mighty To Save, this is along the same lines! I actually did enjoy Mighty to Save, really I did! This just seems to quick and to similar to stand out which is a shame because there’s probably some great songs on here to use. I’ll have to come back around to it in a couple months though to find them.

9 Responses to “Thumbs Up/Down – Hillsong’s Savior King”


  1. September 5, 2007 at 8:09 am

    all about the bejamins baby, at least for the record company. Not a bad thing, everyone has to make a living. Hillsong is a sure thing in the chrisitan record industry…sorry if my post seems cynical.

  2. September 5, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    i really like the hillsong london stuff..check that out…

  3. 3 Jbrown
    December 11, 2007 at 2:43 am

    a few things here:

    1. They use the same musicians (United) because they are a church with a generational mindset – they realize the importance of bringing up the younger generation to have an impact on and be impacted by the older generation.

    2. They “double dip” the songs because they know that there are people out there that do not hear the United albums and they want a different market to have the chance to hear the well written songs of United. And yes they produce them differently because of the aforementioned difference in markets.

    3. When I first listened to this album it didn’t grab me. But that’s because it actually has more depth and richness than I first thought. Therefore it wasn’t immediately palatable. So it doesn’t have the bubblegum ease of listening that so many want. It’s a bit more gourmet. And that, to me, is more than a good thing.

    4.This album has a great spirit of worship and truly honors the King!

  4. December 11, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Yeah Jbrown, I totally agree with you. We had a lengthy discussion of this “generational mindset” after practice. I don’t know if anyone has actually done it yet so I’m extremely intrigued to see what Hillsong will be doing in the near future. I’m actually envious because I don’t see my church doing the same thing 🙂
    The “double-dipping” thing really bothered me when it became the title of the CD. However, thinking through the “generation mindset” it actually makes sense so I think I’ve come around to it.

    Great points, welcome!

  5. 5 Jordan
    February 27, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Seriously? I just happened to see this sight on google and I read what this loser said about hillsong. Dude, you’re an idiot. Do you think that what you say actually makes since? Shut up and listen to the cd without trying to be some retarded critic. It’s a good cd and it has great songs. All of the Above was a studio CD and they redid it in a live environment.
    So they repeated a couple of songs. Who cares? That’s why they put 14 freaking songs on the CD so you don’t feel like your getting dooped. wow.. the ignorance is overwhelming on this page.

  6. February 27, 2008 at 11:51 am

    @Jordan I love having different viewpoints discussed here on the blog. I wish you’d read the posts all the way through before you start ranting though. The disconnectedness is “overwhelming.”
    I would like to ask you to explore the possibility though that people may not share the same view as you. It doesn’t mean they are “idiots and losers” it means they see things differently. It’ll make life much interesting for you if you can have discussions with people instead of pushing everyone who doesn’t fit to your mold away with backhanded remarks.

    I think if you actually read my post you’ll see we agree about this CD more than disagree.

  7. 7 fanny
    April 7, 2008 at 7:37 am

    i love “all of the above” as well as 2saviour king” and all the other albums of Hillsong.

  8. 8 fanny
    April 7, 2008 at 7:38 am

    i love “all of the above” as well as
    saviour king” and all the other albums of Hillsong.

  9. 9 Nathan
    February 28, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Jordan…

    amazing mate… you a Christian?? cause ripping someone down and calling them that sort of stuff doesn’t really reflect the mind of Christ… and before you start calling someone an idiot.. it’s SITE not sight…

    I am a 34 yr old youth Worker and I long for every new album from Hillsong United… not so much from Hillsong for OP’s reasons


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


