09
Sep
07

Worship Textfessional 9/9

This morning was actually kind of fun! Garnett’s in a series of Spiritual Discipline & Practice and this morning was on Silence and Solitude so in response to that we went all acoustic. I played acoustic (not a big surprise), Jim played acoustic (probably the 1st time on Sunday mornings!), Lawrence brought in his fretless bass, Renee played crazy beautiful whispering winds kind of melodies on the keys, Mom sang back-up, and Justin played drums.

  1. Come & Listen – DC*B -E – prelude
  2. Everlasting God – Brenton Brown – A
  3. Your love is extravagant – Darrell Evans -E
  4. In the secret – Vineyard??? – G
  5. The Sound of Silence – Simon and Garfunkel – instrumental throughout offering

Yeah, so short set this morning. The service was actually 15 minutes shorter than normal and we thought we’d try out communion quietly with no music underneath. We figured this would be the most appropriate time to experiment with it and I think it worked wonderfully!

I was totally stoked with opening with Come & Listen. I NEVER fingerpick and I practiced all week long on this one. I actually capoed 2 and played in a D formation. I just couldn’t figure it all out in E. I think the recording is in Eb which makes me think he plays it in his cool crazy open tuning, I’ll keep working on that but for now the D formation worked out pretty well. I liked it alot. I let that song set the pace for the morning.

Everlasting God was actually wicked acoustic! Jim even did the solo on the acoustic and it had such an incredibly new flavor to it! Your love… is a classic favorite of mine!  The only real different thing to mention here is that the entire morning I played sans pic. It gave it a different feel and sound and again it’s been something I wanted to experiment with and this seemed most appropriate. This song was cool because I got to ring out those root notes and flick the chords with my fingers and get some sliding action going on a bit.

The Sound of Silence was even fun! We played that instrumentally a full step higher than the recording for simplicity sake. I capoed 7 and Jim played standard. It’s so hard not to rush that song! Really fun though.

So overall a cool morning! I have a musician that I think I’m going to have to have an awkward conversation with. He’s incredibly and wildly talented but has an awful tendency to overplay. It was truly evident this morning on some of these songs that simply called for nice long sustained full notes and he’s wildly running the fret board. It’s totally stressing me out but it’s beginning to become a problem on getting the groooove!! I fear that he’s not even listening to the rest of the band. I’ve never run into this problem before, OVERLY talented musicians! But its something that’s getting noticed and it needs to be addressed I suppose. It’s definitely not getting better with time.

6 Responses to “Worship Textfessional 9/9”


  1. September 10, 2007 at 7:16 am

    love Everlasting God….
    we also do this without an electric. and it works!
    blessings

  2. September 10, 2007 at 11:58 am

    wow…real cool set man…

    and no pick…how ballsy. lol

  3. September 10, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    dude it was uncomfortable, seriously

  4. September 10, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    oh man i bet…sometimes I go pickless but every time I do I find myself very thankful that Ive got picks

  5. September 10, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Hey –
    Can I grab your RSS feed for ONLY the TextFessional category and have it automatically imported into http://www.theworshipcommunity.com?

    Just say “yes” – email me!
    Thanks
    Fred


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


