11
Sep
07

Remembering

9-11

I woke up that morning to the alarm clock going off to Kidd Kraddick in the morning. Instantly, the mood was different. They weren’t joking and kidding around. There was this stunned tone almost with a loss of words for what had happened just minutes earlier. I remember initially laughing and thinking it was a War of the Worlds bit or something. Then slowly, the realization settled in that this wasn’t something they were kidding around with a prank caller on or having Big Al pretend to screw up. I remember I was living my my parents that semester and they were in the kitchen making breakfast as I quickly came down the hallway and slowly turned on the TV and switched it to the local news. I even changed it to Fox News, to CNN, to the other local news to double check and see if this was really ‘real.’

I called to my parents as I saw this building in New York on flames. We were so confused by the whole thing when we saw this plane hit the building next to the smoking one. It wasn’t recorded or a replay, it was live. It was the freakiest thing I had ever seen in my life. I sat there in the living room (the TV on the opposite wall that it’s on right now) just dazed. Mostly confused and baffled but actually afraid. There is nothing in my memory to date that has stuck out in my mind so prevalent. I have 1 vague, fuzzy memory when the Berlin wall fell. I have a full day etched in my memory. I have weeks of feelings, a year’s anniversary of churning it all up again, and more.

I finally ate and showered and made it to campus for my last class of the day. The buzz on campus was weird. People had all kinds of stories and rumors. There weren’t any strangers that day in class. People were in conversation with everyone about what they saw, heard, the latest news, what was going to happen next. It’s wild what tragedy does to people.

I remember watching for weeks the footage of the rescue workers fighting for salvation of the people in the rubble. I had never felt so overwhelmed in my entire life. The call from my dad that my cousin’s husband had an appointment there that afternoon just hours after the tragedy struck. Rae and I watched together the following year the tributes on TV. The memorials seemed countless. We saw an art exhibit one time with paintings inspired by what happened. We saw the movies made and shorts to commemorate the brave as well as the unfortunate.

Then it was just a few short years later that we were pregnant with our 1st daughter. Her birthday is Sept. 15th. The feelings that week of if she was going to be early and what that would mean. I’m struck by how far we’ve fallen as creatures of sin. I’m also in awe of a God who still embraces us. I want to live a life worthy and significant and full of love for those around me. I want my daughter to know there is real evil out there but that she can be real goodness as well. That we have a choice to make and that choice can be difficult but the reward is worth the cost to make the most of what we’re given while we’re here.

I wrote out this post last night around 12:30 AM when I figured out today was September 11th. This date is such a strange one for me. Thanks to many of you however, I read your posts and felt ‘normal.’ It was so incredible as I checked my Reader today and saw pictures of American flags, stories of memories, conviction of loving our enemies, hurt for the lost. Thank you:

Mud

Klampert

especially you Dustin

Rich

1 Response to “Remembering”


  1. September 12, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    I can still remember every moment of that day like it was yesterday. I am so unbelievably grateful that I know the truth and with that knowledge comes hope!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


