22
Oct
07

I Read Good



Blue Like Jazz

This is one area I’ve never been a fan of. I just inherently don’t enjoy reading…that is unless the page is made up of pictures and Marvel/DC/Image/etc. is found somewhere on the front 🙂

BUT since I’ve become full-time at church it feels like ALL I do is read! BUT that’s not the crazy thing! The crazy thing is that I’m totally digging it! So, I’ll add some book coverage here when I think it’s appropriate. I mean if we’re blogging, I assume you like to read! Each week, Rae and I meet up with some other incredible couples and we’re going through Blue Like Jazz. I hope that some of our thoughts can inspire you or give you something to chew on. If you’ve already read it, so what! It’s GRAVY BABY! This is my 2x time through it but then again if Don Miller was a drug I’d need rehab! Oh wow, I just can’t get enough.

5 Responses to “I Read Good”


  1. 1 worshipguitarist
    October 23, 2007 at 7:59 am

    You should check out Rob Bell’s Velvet Elvis. The Barbarian Way (quote: “The greatest enemy to the movement of Jesus Christ is Christianity”)by Erwin McManus is really good. Donald Miller has written several other books that are worth checking out.

  2. October 23, 2007 at 8:26 am

    I second Worshipguitarist. Bell, Miller & McManus are the Holy Trinity of authors right now… IMHO.

  3. October 23, 2007 at 10:02 am

    I agree with you. I actually read Velvet Elvis way before Blue Like Jazz. I have Erwin discussing Barbarian Christianity (the talk that birthed the book.) I love both those guys!

  4. October 23, 2007 at 10:39 am

    my tri right now…. is def not that one…

    laberton – dangerous act of worship
    batterson – in a pit with a lion

    and really thats it…those two books are invaluable

  5. October 23, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    I was a huge fan of Blue Like Jazz and Velvet Elvis. I’m reading In a Pit with a Lion right now and it’s pretty mediocre.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


