22
Oct
07

Worship Textfessional Oct 21st

I listed the songs earlier here. This past Sunday was just weird. So much was happening. The day was a wild one. We don’t do too much denominational stuff at our church. I don’t think it’s that people don’t care, but in the age of ‘Community Churches’ we’re getting further away from the distinct lines in the sand of denominations I suppose. Yesterday did mark a landmark decision for our church however, and so we talked ALOT about it! We’re leaving the PCUSA and moving to the EPC. So, if you’re not Presbyterian, you have no idea what I just said, if you are then you’re probably celebrating with me šŸ™‚

Musically, the concept of focus was the topic of conversation this week. My keyboardist was not focused. We played our prelude as the chorus of Lead Me To the Cross. I welcomed and asked the congregation to join us and wished for the keyboardist to fire up the organ patch for O Worship the King and I got deer in the headlights. So, I prayed to hopefully give that person some time to get it together and to return me to the correct frame of mind and still nothing. So, unfortunately, after the prayer I had to turn all the way around and eye beg the start of the song. Then, we’re transitioning to using our ‘backscreen’ instead of music stands for lyrics and BAM the 1st verse didn’t move and I blanked on the words for the 2nd verse. It seemed like all the air in the room was sucked out and unfortunately didn’t seem to return until almost the end of music portion of worship. But I’m highly critical so I don’t know if that truly happened or not for everyone else in the room.

There were 2 highlights for me as a worshipper that morning. Sometimes I think as ‘Worship Leaders’ we can forget that we’re to be ‘Leading Worship’ through our own personal worship as well.

  1. The combination of Lead Me to the Cross and The Wonderful Cross was AWESOME! I really loved the combination of the yumminess of Lead Me to the Cross in it’s sound, chord progression, and incredible lyrics with The Wonderful Cross. Even with it being a rendition of the hymn it’s one of the first renditions and still holds true to some of they hymnlike qualities. Those 2 paired together were beautiful!
  2. Our God Reigns. Yes, our God reigns. It’s true! Our God reigns! We work hard at trying to keep the flow from start to finish during the entire service. All too often, the Offering time can be put on the back burner and I can forget about it and I hate that! I’ve been trying alot lately to do something with that time and it not be me simply strumming along chords of some song and just blow by. This weekend we played the chorus of Our God Reigns with just acoustic, electric, and keys. It was really something! I didn’t realize how high the song is! It took me way by surprise! As we practiced it, I simply belted it out and it wasn’t anything. Sunday morning, I’m trying to keep within the framework of the mood we’re putting forth and WOAH the end part of that line is high šŸ™‚ I moved to the falsetto each time and it wasn’t a big deal, it’s simply not something I do often. very time it does happen I feel a bit Chris Martinish and I really dig it. My wife knows this and she just laughs šŸ™‚
    Regardless, it was a great thing to have for the offering and to keep the spirit of worship from the music to the message time!

The worship leader in me, was appreciative of Our God Reigns because I received affirmation afterwards about how great ‘that pretty song’ was that we played during the offering. Not that I thrive on ‘attaboys’ but it’s a reflection that I’m listening more to God than to me and the congregation is connecting to what we’re doing musically. So I like hearing feedback.

Constructive criticism is what I like the most, unfortunately I hardly ever get that šŸ˜¦

5 Responses to “Worship Textfessional Oct 21st”


  1. October 23, 2007 at 7:17 am

    That “Lead me to the cross” and “Wonderful Cross” combo sounds pretty sweet. I’ve never done that before.

  2. October 23, 2007 at 10:37 am

    yeah thats a great idea…wont work for me though…I do wonderfuil cross in D

  3. October 23, 2007 at 11:05 am

    I do too. But I do Lead me to the Cross in A (I think.) So the last chord we play is a C#m. It worked really well. Lead Me comes way down immediately at the end of that chorus line and I vamped out that C#m to let my guitarist get ready. I rang it out and as it died down he started up the lick for Wonderful Cross and we play it in D too.

  4. October 23, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Nice – it’s always refreshing to hear of some of the “not so perfect” things that happen, too – and how we deal with them!

  5. October 23, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Fred I’ve got a stash of “not so perfect” stories any time your in need of one šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


