29
Oct
07

Worship Textfessional Oct 28th

So this weekend’s worship was…interesting. For the songs see my Pre-textfessional here.

Two things I found…interesting:

  1. As soon as you question the ease of using 2 guitars in your favorite worship forum, it’ll all of a sudden be wildly difficult for you on Sunday morning 🙂 HAHAHA. I regularly swap electric and acoustic in guitars without having a problem. This week however, I wanted to use Your Grace is Enough with Amazing Grace to create this nice lil set of grace. Well in doing so, it made it to where I had to swap guitars for every song! That wasn’t quite so smart. I changed things up a bit and in the second service I just stuck with the electric while playing Amazing Grace because it was being led by the piano player and I was really only adding accents.
  2. Even though I am considered the Lead Worshipper or Worship Pastor or what have you, our Pastor is as much a worship leader as I am! Our Pastor and Communications Director (along with an elder) were in California for our first Presbytery meeting of the EPC. Which meant I had alot of work that morning! That wasn’t so difficult, however, not having our Pastor up front worshipping seemed to truly make a difference in the congregation’s response in worship. It made my “job” harder! Hahaha.
    I have the great privilege of a Pastor who is expressive in his worship and I’m not sure I really recognized how fortunate I am to have him! He sings! He claps! He lifts his hands! He closes his eyes, but I don’t think the congregation sees that 🙂 Seriously, though his presence really is a wonderful thing to have in our worship service.

One of the best moments for me though was when we played O, For a Thousand Tongues to Sing! It was amazing. That song is so big! I really recommend you trying it. Crowder has SO MUCH happening in that song that it seems overwhelming but when you break it down it truly is doable! Here’s what we had:

  • Drums – well I have the best drummer in the South so I can’t help you there!
  • Bass – a big heavy bass will move this song along really well
  • Electric – there are only a few lil licks throughout the verses but the bigness of the choruses are truly where the electric makes it mark!
  • Acoustic – easy man version of this is capoing up 5 and playing a D formation. Its really really simple. Your hitting the middle strings and then hammering on your D and Dsus to make the lick happen in the intro and instrumental portions. Crowder plays it in his Crowder tuning of an open A. You can see how he does it here.
  • Keys – they really helped and I’m really glad we had Calvin. He added a ton with his big strings patch to do the lick that carries the instrumental vamps. I actually hesitated to try this song without him but after trying it out I really believe even a basic band could pull it off and I don’t think it would be missed. I’m confident we could do it again without the keys!
  • Vocals – I did have a backup vocalist who provided a great harmony piece for this song!

Man, I can’t tell you how big and boisterous the choruses of this song is! It’s just high enough to where you HAVE to sing out but it’s not uncomfortable! It’s pushed All Creatures and Come Thou Fount down a peg each to become my favorite hymn to sing!

4 Responses to “Worship Textfessional Oct 28th”


  1. October 29, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Yeah watching crowder on the new song cafe just makes the average worship leader guitar player feel completely overwhelmed. so I didn’t even try to learn it. I love the song, but I just don’t want to have to think as much as that would require and try to sing too. I like the capo 5 idea though. Thanks!

  2. October 30, 2007 at 8:18 am

    Sweet. I’ll have to take a listen to that song and see if we can fit it into one of our next worship nights! I love alternate tunings so I’ll definitely check out the “Crowder Tuning”…

    Might have to do a whole set in it for fun.

  3. October 30, 2007 at 9:42 am

    It is a fun tuning. EAEEBE so it’s real open and full, but it gets kinda droning on if your not really utilizing it. Fortunately, with what Crowder does it is pretty easy to utilize. You can find chord structures on his site on all the old Crowder albums (I think anything pre-Illuminate.)

  4. October 30, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    dang, man. sounds like a blast. really looking forward to giving it a shot with our congregation!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


