30
Oct
07

Appetite for Construction Tour Pt. 1 – Ruth

Ruth

Ruth was the opening openers. It’s actually the lead singer’s last name and there’s not a girl in the bunch of them. I thought that Reliant K was the opener opener so it was a surprise seeing a 3rd name on our tickets but it was a good surprise. Just what you want from an opening opening band: fun, music you’ve never heard before in the style of your favorite band who you’ve come to see.

Nothing extremely special about this band, they’re a 4 piece rock group but they really were good! I was excited to see someone with crazy long hair in a red flannel shirt, brought back memories of my grunge days 🙂 But the tight pants and cool guitar tones brought a different slice to the mix. They honestly did remind me of some bands that I’d seen back in the 90s like Silverchair and such with some grunge roots that have blended with the Rock/Pop genres. I see Secondhand Dreaming is available on iTunes and I’m thinking of getting it.

It’s funny now going to these concerts. I notice the opening openers mix is always poorest. Their portion of the stage is always smallest. The amount of lights are always fewest. And it gets bigger and better as the night goes on 🙂

4 Responses to “Appetite for Construction Tour Pt. 1 – Ruth”


  1. November 12, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    i love ruth i am going to the tour soon
    what do you mean by opener opener?
    and Reliant k is spelled Relient k
    they changed the spelling for copyright reasons
    but glad to see their stuff is getting out!
    ROCK ON!

    Joseph

  2. November 12, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Ah, well all the promos I saw had Relient K and Switchfoot. I thought it’d simply be those 2 bands and Relient K as the ‘opener.’ To my surprise there was a band opening before the opener, hence the opener openers 🙂

    Yeah, I noticed I was interchanging Relient and Reliant K throughout some of these posts!

  3. November 12, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Oh but Ruth was great! I’m so glad they were there!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


