30
Oct
07

Appetite for Construction Tour Pt. 2 – Relient K

Matt test RK Band Piano RK Band Bright

Snow Snow on stage New Friends

So, I really could have cared less about Relient K going into this concert (I’m sure there’s a teenager crying because I said that.) But it’s true. I have one song of theirs, In Love with the 80s I think is the name of it. I honestly have never given them much of a listening to but for some reason I was never inclined to either.
HOWEVER
, let me set the record straight: THESE GUYS KILL!! Rae and I were totally surprised! Seriously, lyrics like “sadie hawkins dance in my khaki pants” just don’t really do it for me, but a quality show with crowd interaction and talented musicians totally does! I’ll get long winded if I don’t watch myself but let me throw this out there for all the would be high school wanna be punk rock pop bands out there that want to make a go for it:

6 Things I Will Learn From Relient K (in no particular order)

  1. Variety – Front man Matt played the piano, played the guitar, had 2 different mics at the piano, & 2 different mics at the guitar stand. Crazy guitarist Jon played guitar, played banjo, & some crazy xylophone instrument! The cool thing too is that they didn’t just do it for one song. I think he soloed on the banjo for at least 2 tunes! I now want a banjo BAD! And the same thing for the xylophone thingy! Broadening your band to be able to do this is wildly entertaining!! 
  2. Variety – It’s worth saying again! About 20 minutes into their piece I leaned over to Rae and even said, “This is cool but I can’t take an hour of this!” I was dead wrong! It got incredibly creative! There were songs that were ripped straight from the 80s! In fact, the set up for In Love With the 80s was Head Over Heels by Tears for Fears! Rae and I wet ourselves! It was done so great! Then there were times when I felt like this could have been Papa Roach we were listening to! I felt a little of the Fray popping out and then some just great fun pop/rock!
  3. Vocals – You’ve got at least 3 people in your band (5 if your Relient K) give everyone mics! It’s such a huge difference. Its the biggest downer when I go to a concert and a band has these incredible choruses or anthem bridges and the lead man tries to pull it off by himself. Having the other members of the band chant out or yell out or sing out is HUGE!
  4. Snow – Yeah bring artificial snow to a city that only sees snow like every few years. I’m your biggest fan now 🙂
  5. Crowd Connection – 1st off this was done with Matt’s candid conversations and interactions with the crowd. I like it when a song sentimental to an artist is talked about. I like it when he points out the crazy sign and tries to make sense of it. I like him talking to me!
    2ndly this was done with stomp boxes. I don’t know what to call these but I’m seeing them more and more now. I don’t know if they house monitors underneath or what but they’re about the size of a stage wedge and the band uses them to jump on top of and make the crowd go buck wild. It’s a visual that totally works!
  6. Practice– KNOW YOUR MUSIC! I was horrible at this gigging in college. But man, if you don’t know your music and aren’t able to lay it all out there then how in the world do  you expect to have that Crowd Connection?!?! This just isn’t for the lead singer, this is for every member of the band! That band chemistry is invaluable and can not only be seen but felt by a crowd. 

 

5 Responses to “Appetite for Construction Tour Pt. 2 – Relient K”


  1. 1 worshipguitarist
    October 31, 2007 at 11:48 am

    I’m guessing that most of those amps in the back were for Switchfoot. I’ve heard that they use a ton of amps on stage – Orange, Bad Cat, Matchless, Divided by 13, etc.

  2. October 31, 2007 at 11:53 am

    NOPE! All that was Relient K! I’m telling you, these guys are pros man! I made sure to get gear pics of Switchfoot but everything you see here is Relient K’s stuff. They had 3 guitarists and used everything from Fender to Marshall to the Badcat you see on stage!
    The Switchfoot pics and gear are coming soon. Today being Halloween and all is slowing me down 🙂 I figured I’d get a little topical today.

  3. November 12, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Relient k got me hooked on rock
    i didnt care for music till i heard them
    i hope you continue to listen to their music it rocks

  4. 5 anonymousjohn
    January 9, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    hey, if you want to know what gear they all used, shoot me an email and I’ll type it all out. I was a stage manager at one of the shows 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


