13
Nov
07

Thumbs UP/DOWN: MercyMe & mySpace

Thumbs up I’m very pleased with the new single from MercyMe: God With Us. They’ve blown up since 2001’s Almost There CD but I’ve been with these guys since waaaay back in the day! It was Traces of Rain Volumes 1 and 2 that got me into Praise and Worship! The evolution hasn’t always been in the direction that I would prefer but their level of musicianship and talent has definitely been excelling the entire time. The addition of Barry has been an incredible compliment to Michael and the band.

The media surrounding the new album is much more the direction I’m hoping the band takes. The look and feel of the band is that they’re trying to head towards their more youthful rocking selves 🙂 They tried to do so much with Coming Up to Breathe that I don’t think it transferred really well. The groove of the new tune is pretty cool. It’s familiar with some of the songs off Undone which I happened to really like. It’s a good sitting back in the pocket kind of groove with all that makes the Top Hat amp something I really want!

My thumb’s up is really surrounded my hopefulness of the new CD!

Thumbs up MercyMe is also doing a really cool thing online as well. mySpace: love it or hate it, it’s a vast playground where bagillions of people (mostly my students) hang out. As a student leader, I’m all for safe places to hang out and MercyMe has created a safe and creative place on mySpace that I think is using the platform correctly. For every ‘significant’ level of friends they reach, they release a song on mySpace exclusively. They’re hilarious! I love love love bands that do this! It’s a great way to connect with their audience and to have fun as well. Here’s a video promoting the new tune, join the friendzy!!

6 Responses to “Thumbs UP/DOWN: MercyMe & mySpace”


  1. November 13, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    I completely agree with you on MySpace. Although I’m never there (occasionally I’ll update my picture) I recognize it’s relevance in the world today and embrace it as a huge communication tool. Especially for the church.

    I took a ton of greif for creating one for our church, but I stood my ground, and we’ve had some cool responses as a result.

  2. November 13, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Yeah great call on myspace. It may be lame and played out but there is still a huge audience there.

  3. November 14, 2007 at 6:21 am

    I’m thinking that sites like it and facebook are still gaining momentum, with pre-teens becoming teens in droves (yes I used the word droves…FREEEEEEDDDDDOOOOM!!)

    We use a myspace to promote our student facility and venue. It’s the best tool we’ve found. In our neck of the woods facebook is the cool, college, starbucks crowd and myspace is the middle/high school crowd.

    I do both. And we also do mychurch.org, which is kinda lame (but provides a networking space specifically for our church family)…

  4. November 14, 2007 at 11:02 am

    Yeah, I now only use mySpace to communicate with our students. I too set up a youth group page for our High school and am working on one for our Middle school because they’re asking for one!
    I hesitated for a long time but figured if they’re going to be on there, might as well give them a cool place to go to instead of the other pages that may draw their attention.
    It’s honestly become the best form of communication for what we’re doing!

  5. 5 CK
    November 18, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Speaking of concerts… I’m going to see Alter Bridge tomorrow night at the Newport, Columbus OH!

  6. November 18, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    OH MAN I HATE YOU!! That’s awesome. So far no announcement of a stop down here yet. Please tell me if they’re as incredible as I remembered from their last tour!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


