20
Nov
07

Thumbs UP/DOWN: Music not related to Bluegrass! Republic, Mercy, Goo, Anberlin, Boys, & Brit

As much as I LOVED doing Bluegrass Sunday, I am so glad to be listening to other genre’s of music! Let’s begin:

Thumbs upOneRepublicDreaming Out Loud – My wife is going to be sooo stoked when I get home today with this!!! The mySpace gurus of popularity have finally made their breakthrough into record stores. 12 killer tracks + the one that put them on the map, the Timba remixed of Apologize (hey…hey) + bonus videos all for a measly $7.99 on iTunes! GO NOW!

I never did really get into The Fray but these guys make me feel like if The Fray were really cool and experimented with different sounds and loops then they might be OneRepublic and I’d really like them. I don’t know why I say that, and looking at it comes off kind of mean but I’m trying to ya’ll who are unfamiliar with them a bearing. They’re really kind of all over the map. Acoustic driven, piano, cello stuff, steel guitar stuff, lofty vocals! It kills me that they even needed Timba’s help to get on the map. I can’t imagine why guys with this much talent and music even needed help!

Thumbs upMercyMeAll That is Within Me – WOOHOO! So far, I’m not disappointed in what MercyMe has released with their newest sure to be overplayed on Klove CD 🙂 A great opener with Goodbye Ordinary! A fun familiar shuffle beat keeps it going with Time Has Come! I’m liking the guitar tones of I know, I mean so far it’s good stuff! MercyMe has gotten a little far from making worship songs your typical praise team could pull off with Bart’s stellar range, added loops, etc., and great guitar tones but God With Us is promising. I would love to give it a whirl!

I’m digging the dual guitars here on this CD. The tone of Sanctified is really cool and if you pick it up from iTunes you get an acoustic version. Still cool but different.

Thumbs upThe Goo Goo DollsGreatest Hits, Vol. 1 (The Singles) – YES YES YES! Oh wow this CD is incredible! 14 stellar tracks by all that is Goo, and 12 were Top 10 Hits! The ONLY song I can’t instantly sing along with is #9’s Feel The. THIS IS WHAT A GREATEST HITS SHOULD BE! I know some people are like, “Seriously, the Goo Goo Dolls have a ‘Greatest Hits’ CD?!?!” OH YEAH! I am biased, I’ve always loved the Goo Goo Dolls and this CD just paints a cool canvas of their Make Out Rock ‘n Roll ride of songs 🙂 I mean seriously, haven’t we all kissed someone while listening to a Goo Goo Dolls song?!?! Even the movies go to Goo Goo Dolls when they need a great background song for a big kiss scene! I can’t stay serious here, but I am serious in that this compilation makes me smile! A big ole’ smile too! This will not disappoint!
??? AnberlinLost Songs – This is KILLING ME that it’s not on iTunes yet! 18 tracks from Anberlin featuring B sides, AOL sessions, and acoustic covers of songs like Day Late Friend, Cadence, Dismantle.Repair, Naive Orleans! Oh yeah. Looks like a must have for Anberlin fans! I’m going to give it till next Tuesday, otherwise I’m off to the internet to purchase a physical copy!

Thumbs downNewsboysThe Greatest Hits – It’s hard to believe that 7 years after their last Hits CD, another Hits CD could already be coming out. Well I suppose because this one is titled ‘Greatest Hits’ it makes it ok. It’s hard to argue the Newsboys’ incredible stamp on Christian music. They’ve been here for what seems like the beginning of Christian music and one of the few bands still making music that seems current! However, I hate churning. We get 18 songs on this Greatest Hits CD but they pulled 8 off the last Hits CD released. That still leaves 11 other newer tunes and only being $3.00 more than a normal iTunes purchase I suppose it’s worth it. Still, some of these songs are still fresh, it seems like I have all of them gathered together already on a few CDs or in my wife’s iPod.

Thumbs downBritney SpearsGimme More (Remixes) EP – This song must be about Extra Strength Tylenol because that’s what I need after hearing what I can stomach before changing the station. Now, to have techno junkies remixing it…I’m speechless…

3 Responses to “Thumbs UP/DOWN: Music not related to Bluegrass! Republic, Mercy, Goo, Anberlin, Boys, & Brit”


  1. November 20, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Hey, come review my free Christmas song. Please. 😀

  2. 2 Ali
    November 20, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Yes!! I love OneRepublic! It’s about time these boys released a CD. I will definitely be purchasing this one before I get on the road for Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


