20
Nov
07

Worship Textfessional Nov. 18th

Well this past Sunday has already received a ton of attention being that it was our special Bluegrass Sunday but that’s because there is so much to talk about!

  • Keep things fresh – We have the ability to pull off something crazy like a Bluegrass Sunday. I don’t know a ton of people who love Bluegrass music, but I know a ton of people who do love when we do Bluegrass Sunday. It’s something unusual and new and people totally embrace it! I will say Bluegrass has 2 things working for it: 1) It’s mostly hymns and people are mostly familiar with hymns so it crosses over well. 2) It’s got a rhythm that people uncontrollably must clap to (albeit on the wrong beat.) So, it’s a blast to do. But wherever you are, find something new and fresh you can do to change things up a bit! I’ve got to think of something else now because people have come to expect Bluegrass now.
  • That Ole Time Religion – So, I pride myself on keeping up to date with the latest and greatest praise and worship music out there (sometimes to a fault) but man there is something incredible about the lyrics of those old hymns! We just don’t write about that stuff that much anymore. The power, the blood, heaven, death, power in blood, glory and all that. Man it’s good stuff. I suppose glory is a buzz word right now, I hear that alot, but it was great singing all those old songs and having people fulling embrace it.

The thing that has me scratching my head feverishly is how to make that correspond to our “normal” Sundays? I mean there was an explosion at our 10:45 service unlike anything we’ve ever seen before. What you saw in that video is exactly what happened at church that morning (except there weren’t any tables in there!) EVERYONE was singing! EVERYONE was clapping! Kids were dancing in the back and in the aisles! It was insane!! AND a bonus as a worship leader: I didn’t have to do anything! We didn’t “example clap” from the front! We didn’t encourage singing from the front! We didn’t do anything but play the songs! I don’t know how to process this fully yet, so it may keep coming up for a while now 🙂

Again, here’s the video link: Click Here
Here are the songs we played that morning:

  1. Foggy Mountain Breakdown – prelude
  2. When the Saints Go Marching In
  3. I Saw the Light
  4. Power in the Blood
  5. Wholly Yours
  6. I’ll Fly Away

and that afternoon:

  1. Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
  2. Hope Lifted…
  3. I Saw the Light
  4. Power in the Blood
  5. When the Saints Go Marching In
1 Response to “Worship Textfessional Nov. 18th”


  1. November 20, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    Yes! We totally do bluegrass Sundays as well, although I should probably say bluegrass half-Sundays, as we’ve never done an ENTIRE worship set in bluegrass style.

    My favorite is “I Saw the Light” into “I’ll Fly Away.”

    Good stuff man!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


