29
Nov
07

Hitman…dare I?

So many things are brewing in my vast cranium yet before I can unleash them here in WordPress I have a burning desire to put out a review for the movie Hitman that was released just in time for the family fun weekend of Thanksgiving šŸ™‚

Hitman MovieĀ Poster

Hitman got BLASTED by Rotten Tomatoes with a measly 10% Rotten score. IMDb was gentler with a score of 6.7/10. In my review of Hitman, I must say…I was thoroughly pleased! Let me say this up front:

Warning: this movie is rated R because: the lead character is a hitman who kills multiple people in this movie. There is violence. There is also maybe a little less than a dozen F bombs. Then there’s 2 scenes of female nudity. This is the downside of this movie for me and the stumbling block I have with it. It appeared almost that they made the movie and it was borderline PG-13 or R. They decided to go R and put in the boobies and F bombs. It was a sad choice šŸ˜¦

However: The redemptive warning I have is that they did NOT fall prey to the instant gratification sex scene that it seems is part of the formula of making an action movie these days! That was AWESOME to not have to endure and I was so pleased by that!

Fans of the game, I think will love it! Obviously, many of the poor reviews came from people who must have never played the game. Timothy Olyphant scared me in the first 5 minutes because I didn’t think he had the stones to pull this off. Needless to say, he changed my mind after that! They gave us some background on Agent 47 and gave him just enough depth to make us care about him without allowing us to forget he was a Hitman!

As they did with The Rock’s Doom, there were some moments that only gamers could truly appreciate!Ā  A few scenes seemed to have been pulled straight from the game and had me grinning like an idiot! The last shot was a bit over the top and felt like you were now watching a game sequence instead of a movie but again…I can let it slide. The movie is over the top, explosive, and wild. Suspend reality and see a video game inspired movie that blends Jason Bourne and James Bond and go into it having fun and you’ll LOVE this movie! It actually felt alot like the Bourne Identity now that I think about it and would love to see them give it some more attention and perhaps do a follow up movie! I doubt seriously though that it will get that kind of attention but a nerdy gamer can dream can’t he?

5 Responses to “Hitman…dare I?”


  1. November 29, 2007 at 11:34 am

    I saw it and thought it was ok. From a story standpoint, they didn’t have a whole lot to work with and the acting was, eh. It was entertaining, and hopefully a step in right direction for game movies.

  2. 2 CK
    November 29, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Here’s a resource I look at when I venture out into the entertainment industry… http://www.christiananswers.net/spotlight/

  3. November 30, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Great resource, I agree with the 2nd and 3rd reviewers!

  4. November 30, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    i agree with “portorikan”…there is no serious story….but i bet if liked the game then you will love to see the action.

    http://desimasalamasti.blogspot.com/

  5. November 30, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Aren’t stories secondary in movies like this anyway šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


