30
Nov
07

Worship Pre-Textfessional Dec 2nd

Ok I am officially “Freaking out!!” as I see that this weekend is actually December! Where in the world has the year gone?!?! This is crazy.

Well, the songs for this weekend are as follows:

  • Awesome is the Lord – G
  • O Worship the King – G
  • Shout to the Lord – A
  • O Come, O Come Emmanuel – Em? It’s got alot of Ems and Bms and Ams and Ds
  • Draw Me Close to You – A

This is the first week of Advent which is still new to me so you’ll begin seeing ‘Advent songs’ and Christmas tunes creeping in here. Look for more on that in a later post specifically on Advent coming your way soon!

NOW, do you notice something wildly out of character here?!?! I’ll give you a hint: it’s in slanty red letters 🙂
When I came on to River I said I’d never play 2 songs: Shout to the Lord and Lord I Lift Your Name on High.
If there were ever two songs that rate highest on my cringe factor that churches continue to play, it’s these two tunes. However, I think when we make statements like that, God must sit there laughing and humming to Himself “Ha, that kid is so funny.”

It has ironically come to my attention that Shout to the Lord is our congregation’s favorite song though and while I find that wildly funny because I haven’t found record that anyone’s played that tune in 3 years and no one’s mumbled or grumbled about it, the only way to find out is for us to play it and see how people respond! So, remembering that it’s not always about ME and what I want, we’re going to play Shout to the Lord and see what happens!

Shout to the Lord CD

🙂 wow that brings back so many memories!

3 Responses to “Worship Pre-Textfessional Dec 2nd”


  1. November 30, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    hahaha, those two songs, along with “come now is the time” and “breathe” are songs that i vowed never to do at my church. so far, so good! im trying to work in advent songs into sundays worship as well. perhaps the chorus of “angels we have heard on high” into “nothing but the blood?”

  2. November 30, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    HAHA! Hilarious. I don’t find Breathe that bad. I actually have played it quite a few times. It’s a good vamping song. Come now is is the Time! Wow, I forgot about that one!

    I’m digging the Angels/Blood medley. I’ll have to look at that!

  3. November 30, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Go for it! I try to do that song only once every 6 months or so but when we do it our congregation r-e-a-l-l-y sings – they love it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


