13
Dec
07

Most Played Songs of 2007

Chris showed me a new fun trick to create some interesting playlists in iTunes. I’ve created for you my “Most Played Songs of 2007 That Were Added in 2007” from the computer at the church.

Top Songs of 2007

It’s pretty interesting. There are more songs here that we don’t play than I expected. Typically songs that we’re going to play get beaten to death on my church computer. I can’t wait to compare to what got played most at home! I can’t believe I listened to The Killers so much here at the office πŸ™‚ Hahaha.
Anyone know how to do this with your iPod? That’d the most interesting and accurate indication of what I truly listen to!

9 Responses to “Most Played Songs of 2007”


  1. December 13, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Hey man – So I figured out that the playlist isn’t doing exactly what I wanted it to do. With the conditions that I’ve given, here’s what is actually happening –

    It’s giving you a list of the most-played songs of ALL THE SONGS that have been played at least once in 2007. So you could have listened to SongX 100 times in 2006 and then if you listen to it only 1 time in 2007 it will still show up in your list as 101 plays. Make sense?

    I’ve done some hunting and there’s no way to do a “most played over a certain amount of time” smart playlist.

    I’m going to try a most-played list but exclude songs that haven’t been played in the last 6 months and see what that does.

  2. December 13, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Ah good call.
    I thought of another question: does it count the songs that I INITIATE BY CLICKING ON THE SONG TO PLAY IT or does it also count songs that randomly come up while on shuffle? That would be interesting as well.

  3. December 13, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Hey I ripped off your idea. Also the way I made my playlist is I put in for the criteria that the song had to be added to iTunes after 1/01/2007. That way anything that I had in 2006 would not be counted. Make sense. I think that might solve your problem. Also it doesn’t count a song unless you listen to it from start to finish. Nice list though man.

  4. December 13, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Awesome, Jason that’s what I did too. So maybe mine is ‘correct.’

  5. December 13, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    That was the second list I did – Top 10 New Songs of 2007. Songs I added to my iTunes after January 1, 2007.
    http://www.chrisfromcanada.com/?p=244

  6. December 14, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Haha, the Remedy album is also in my most played list!

  7. December 14, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    This looks pretty fun. I think I’ll do something like this as well. I haven’t done too much straight itunes playing throughout the year as far as I can remember, but itunes tracks the ipod as well (I believe) so I’ll post mine up when I get it done and link back from here.

    Great idea. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


