22
Dec
07

Worship Textfessional Dec 16th

Last week was pretty exhilarating. It wasn’t the way I would have preferred it but it was a great day of worship and things were clicking.

  •  Joyful, joyful we adore Thee – Charlie Hall/Crowder version – E
  • Joy to the World – Third Dayish – D
  • Angels We Have Heard on High – O Worship the Kingish – D
  • O Come All Ye Faithful – G maybe?
  • Silent Night – MercyMe style during the Offering
  • How Great is Our God/How Great Thou Art – after Communion – B

I actually LOVE MercyMe’s version of Silent Night yet don’t really have a place to put it so I did it for the Offering time. Yeah it’s countryish but it’s fun. I don’t quite country it up but I do capo way up like 7 I think and go to town with it! The verses of that song are just great.

Well it’s fun to do Christmas songs. We do this version of Angels that actually is the opening riff to Tomlin’s version of O Worship the King that is familiar and loved by our congregation. It’s not like the Keane’s Is It Any Wonder version that I was working on but it works 🙂

Then we capped off the morning with a medley of How Great is our God and How Great Thou Art. I’ll tell you, if you’ve never done that YOU MUST! It’s incredible! I would advise you to drop it down a notch or so because it gets a little high in the hymn portion of it. We play How Great is our God all the way up to the bridge and then dance straight into “Then sings my soul! My Savior, God to Thee! How great Thou art, how great Thou art.” Repeat it and then drop into the chorus of How Great is our God. It’s magical, marvelous, and wildly uplifting. It was an amazing way to end the service that morning.

3 Responses to “Worship Textfessional Dec 16th”


  1. December 22, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Hey,
    We did MercyMe’s Silent Night as well – it was great fun, except the congregation kept singing through the “break” on the 3rd and 4th lines of each verse. I told them “that part is tricky” and they laughed, and so I started warning them before the song to watch out for the 3rd and 4th lines (ie. glory streams from … [pause] heaven afar) … and they got it great!

    It was a BLAST to do it!
    Fred

  2. December 22, 2007 at 10:20 am

    AWESOME! Yeah it was actually nice because I heard people singing along with me even though I was playing it during the offering. That’s always exciting! And on those two spots I heard people singing through them. I couldn’t stop smiling! It was great.

  3. January 7, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Our previous worship guy started us on another alternate ending to How Great is our God. I think he heard it at Passion or at a Youth Specialties conference. But you just repeat hallelujah over and over and end with “our God reigns.” You’d probably have to hear it to get it, but it rocks. Next time we talk I’ll try to sing (or croak) it.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


